

July 8, 2011 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Steve Richardson

tigerfwaa@aol.com 972-713-6198

2011 BRONKO NAGURSKI TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

DALLAS (FWAA) – The **2011 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List** features the best and brightest of the upcoming season's defensive players.

One of 87 players on the list most likely will receive the Bronko Nagurski Trophy that is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the **Football Writers Association of America** and the **Charlotte Touchdown Club**. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision Conference and Notre Dame are represented on the list that is pretty evenly divided among linemen, linebackers and defensive backs.

Players may be added or deleted from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the season. For the 11th straight season, the FWAA will choose a National Defensive Player of the Week. If that player is not on the Watch List, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 17.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 12 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2011 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award presented by Florida East Coast Railway. Florida's Jack Youngblood, an end from the FWAA's 1970 All-American team, will be honored. Georgia head coach Mark Richt will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tigerfwaa@ aol.com or 972-713-6198.

The **Charlotte Touchdown Club** is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or jrocco@touchdownclub.com). The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is www. touchdownclub.com.

The **Bronko Nagurski Trophy** is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 13-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and this is the first time the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2011 preseason watch list calendar:

July 5: Maxwell Award/Bednarik AwardJuly 12: Rotary Lombardi AwardJuly 6: Biletnikoff Award/Mackey AwardJuly 13: Rimington TrophyJuly 7: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy AwardJuly 14: Butkus Award

July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy July 15: Davey O'Brien Award/Doak Walker Award

July 11: Jim Thorpe Award July 18: Walter Camp Award



2011 Bronko nagurski trophy preseason watch list

Tackles (16)

Jared Crick, Nebraska Marcus Forston, Miami Logan Harrell, Fresno State Jave Howard, Florida Malik Jackson, Tennessee Mike Martin, Michigan Dontari Poe, Memphis Tydreke Powell, North Carolina Kheeston Randall, Texas Kendall Reyes, Connecticut Kawann Short, Purdue Akeem Spence, Illinois Alameda Ta'amu, Washington Billy Winn, Boise State Derek Wolfe, Cincinnati Jerel Worthy, Michigan State

Ends (16)

Jake Bequette, Arkansas Vince Browne, Northwestern Quinton Coples, North Carolina Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State Vinny Curry, Marshall Bruce Irvin, West Virginia Brandon Jenkins, Florida State Brandon Lindsey, Pittsburgh Brad Madison, Missouri Jonathan Massaguoi, Troy Roosevelt Nix, Kent State Donte Paige-Moss, North Carolina Adrian Robinson, Temple Devin Taylor, South Carolina Taylor Thompson, SMU Nathan Williams, Ohio State

Linebackers (31)

Nigel Bradham, Florida State Tanner Brock, TCU Arthur Brown, Kansas State Zach Brown, North Carolina Vontaze Burfict, Arizona State Miles Burris, San Diego State Tank Carder, TCU Lavonte David, Nebraska Jerry Franklin, Arkansas Zaviar Gooden, Missouri Dont'a Hightower, Alabama James-Michael Johnson, Nevada Mychal Kendricks, California Jake Knott, Iowa State Luke Kuechly, Boston College Travis Lewis, Oklahoma Chris Marve, Vanderbilt Michael Mauti, Penn State Keenan Robinson, Texas J.K. Schaffer, Cincinnati Mychal Sisson, Colorado State Shayne Skov, Stanford Sean Spence, Miami Kenny Tate, Maryland Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech Manti Te'o, Notre Dame Danny Trevathan, Kentucky Courtney Upshaw, Alabama Bobby Wagner, Utah State Brian Wagner, Akron Korey Williams, Southern Miss

Cornerbacks (14)

Brandon Boykin, Georgia
Morris Claiborne, LSU
Alfonzo Dennard, Nebraska
Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
Cliff Harris, Oregon
Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
Coryell Judie, Texas A&M
Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
Chase Minnifield, Virginia
Shaun Prater, Iowa
Xavier Rhodes, Florida State
Josh Robinson, UCF
Keith Tandy, West Virginia

Safeties (10)

Ray-Ray Armstrong, Miami
Mark Barron, Alabama
Tony Dye, UCLA
Delano Howell, Stanford
Robert Lester, Alabama
Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State
T.J. McDonald, USC
Charles Mitchell, Mississippi State
Harrison Smith, Notre Dame
Prentiss Waggner, Tennessee

By conference (87): SEC 19, ACC 14, Big Ten 10, Big 12 9, Pac-12 9, Big East 6, Conference USA 5, Mountain West 5, Independents 3, MAC 3, WAC 3, Sun Belt 1.

The **Bronko Nagurski Trophy** is presented to the National Defensive Player of the Year by the **Charlotte Touchdown Club** and the **Football Writers Association of America**.