

July 8, 2011 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Steve Richardson tigerfwaa@aol.com 972-713-6198

2011 OUTLAND TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

DALLAS (FWAA) – The prestigious **2011 Outland Trophy Watch List** was released today with a galaxy of potential line stars who could win the award that goes to the best interior lineman in college football, as selected by the **Football Writers Association of America**.

Every Division I Bowl Subdivision conference, along with independents BYU and Notre Dame, had at least one player on the annual list, which includes only tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball. Of the 65 players on the watch list, 16 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 21. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 66th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 12, 2012, in Omaha, Neb.

The **Football Writers Association of America**, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tigerfwaa@ aol.com or 972-713-6198.

The **Outland Trophy** is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 13-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and this is the first time the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2011 preseason watch list calendar:

July 5: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award July 6: Biletnikoff Award/Mackey Award July 7: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

July 12: Rotary Lombardi Award July 13: Rimington Trophy July 14: Butkus Award July 15: Davey O'Brien Award/Doak Walker Award July 18: Walter Camp Award



Offensive Tackles (24)

Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State Jeff Allen, Illinois Don Barclay, West Virginia Kelvin Beachum, SMU Tony Bergstrom, Utah James Brown, Troy Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech Andrew Datko, Florida State Cordy Glenn, Georgia Dan Hoch, Missouri Matt Kalil, USC Jonathan Martin, Stanford Zack Martin, Notre Dame Al Netter, Northwestern Lucas Nix, Pittsburgh Xavier Nixon, Florida Trevor Olson, Northern Illinois Kelechi Osemele, Iowa State Nate Potter, Boise State Riley Reiff, Iowa Matt Reynolds, BYU Mitchell Schwartz, California Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina

Guards (14)

Chris Barker, Nevada David DeCastro, Stanford Lonnie Edwards, Texas Tech Joel Foreman, Michigan State Braden Hansen, BYU Chris Jacobson, Pittsburgh Barrett Jones, Alabama Ryan Miller, Colorado Ken Plue, Purdue

2011 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech Larry Warford, Kentucky Brandon Washington, Miami Kevin Zeitler, Wisconsin

Centers (11)

Mike Brewster, Ohio State Dalton Freeman, Clemson Garth Gerhart, Arizona State Ben Habern, Oklahoma Khaled Holmes, USC T.J. Johnson, South Carolina Ben Jones, Georgia David Molk, Michigan Moe Petrus, Connecticut Chris Thompson, Houston William Vlachos, Alabama

Defensive Tackles (16)

Jared Crick, Nebraska Marcus Forston, Miami Logan Harrell, Fresno State Jaye Howard, Florida Malik Jackson, Tennessee Mike Martin, Michigan Dontari Poe, Memphis Tydreke Powell, North Carolina Kheeston Randall, Texas Kendall Reyes, Connecticut Kawann Short, Purdue Akeem Spence, Illinois Alameda Ta'amu, Washington Billy Winn, Boise State Derek Wolfe, Cincinnati Jerel Worthy, Michigan State

By conference (65): Big Ten 13, SEC 11, Pac-12 9, ACC 7, Big 12 7, Big East 6, Conference USA 3, Independents 3, Mountain West 2, WAC 2, MAC 1, Sun Belt 1.

The **Outland Trophy** is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the **Football Writers Association of America**.