

July 12, 2012 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Steve Richardson tigerfwaa@aol.com 972-713-6198

# 2012 BRONKO NAGURSKI TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

DALLAS (FWAA) – The **2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List** features the best and brightest of the upcoming season's defensive players.

One of 84 players on the list most likely will receive the Bronko Nagurski Trophy that is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the **Football Writers Association of America** and the **Charlotte Touchdown Club**. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and independents BYU and Notre Dame are represented on the list that is led by 30 standout linebackers.

Players may be added or deleted from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the season. For the 12th consecutive season, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If a recipient is not on the Watch List, he will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 15.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.



The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet presented by ACN will be Dec. 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2012 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award presented by Florida East Coast Railway. Nebraska's Larry Jacobson, an end from the FWAA's 1971 All-American team, will be honored. Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

The **Football Writers Association of America**, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tigerfwaa@aol.com or 972-713-6198.

The **Charlotte Touchdown Club** is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or jrocco@touchdownclub.com). The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is www. touchdownclub.com.

The **Bronko Nagurski Trophy** is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages

professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:

July 9: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award July 10: Mackey Award/Riminigton Trophy July 11: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award July 12: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy July 13: Jim Thorpe Award July 16: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award July 17: Biletnikoff Award July 18: Davey O'Brien Award July 19: Doak Walker Award July 20: Walter Camp Award



# 2012 BRONKO NAGURSKI TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

**Tackles (9)** Sharrif Floyd, Florida Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State John Jenkins, Georgia Rob Lohr, Vanderbilt Star Lotulelei, Utah Roosevelt Nix, Kent State Kawann Short, Purdue Joe Vellano, Maryland Jesse Williams, Alabama

## Ends (17)

Michael Buchanan, Illinois Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina William Gholston, Michigan State Jackson Jeffcoat. Texas Brandon Jenkins, Florida State Travis Johnson, San Jose State Dion Jordan, Oregon Corey Lemonier, Auburn Kapron Lewis-Moore, Notre Dame Stansly Maponga, TCU Barkevious Mingo, LSU Sam Montgomery, LSU Alex Okafor, Texas John Simon, Ohio State Devin Taylor, South Carolina Bjoern Werner, Florida State Trevardo Williams. Connecticut

#### Linebackers (30)

Dion Bailey, USC Chris Borland, Wisconsin Travis Brown, Fresno State Jonathan Brown, Illinois

Arthur Brown, Kansas State Max Bullough, Michigan State Jamie Collins, Southern Miss Khaseem Greene, Rutgers Steve Greer, Virginia Gerald Hodges, Penn State Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky Nico Johnson, Alabama Jarvis Jones, Georgia A.J. Klein, Iowa State Jake Knott, Iowa State Travis Long, Washington State Khalil Mack, Buffalo Trent Mackey, Tulane C.J. Mosley, Alabama Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College Sean Porter, Texas A&M Kevin Reddick, North Carolina Shayne Skov, Stanford Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech Mike Taylor, Wisconsin Manti Te'o, Notre Dame Chase Thomas. Stanford Kyle Van Noy, BYU Dwayne Woods, Bowling Green Tom Wort, Oklahoma

### Cornerbacks (16)

Johnny Adams, Michigan State Ricardo Allen, Purdue David Amerson, N.C. State Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State Carrington Byndom, Texas Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech Demontre Hurst, Oklahoma Micah Hyde, Iowa Nigel Malone, Kansas State Tyrann Mathieu, LSU Leon McFadden, San Diego State Dee Milliner, Alabama Jordan Poyer, Oregon State Xavier Rhodes, Florida State Nickell Robey, USC

#### Safeties (12)

John Boyett, Oregon Matt Elam, Florida Jarred Holley, Pittsburgh Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State Jordan Kovacs, Michigan Robert Lester, Alabama Dexter McCoil, Tulsa T.J. McDonald, USC Eric Reid, LSU Hakeem Smith, Louisville Kenny Vaccaro, Texas

**By conference (84):** SEC (19), Big Ten (14), Big 12 (13), ACC (11), Pac-12 (10), Big East (4), Conference USA (3), Independents (3), MAC (3), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt (1), WAC (1).

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented to the National Defensive Player of the Year by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America.