

July 12, 2012 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Steve Richardson

> tigerfwaa@aol.com 972-713-6198

## 2012 OUTLAND TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

**DALLAS (FWAA)** – The prestigious **2012 Outland Trophy Watch List** was released today with a galaxy of potential line stars who could win the award that goes to the best interior lineman in college football, as selected by the **Football Writers Association of America**.

Senior Barrett Jones from defending national champion Alabama heads a list of 71 players, which includes only tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball. Of the players on the watch list, 18 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense. Every Division I Bowl Subdivision conference, along with independents BYU and Notre Dame, had at least one player on the list.

The 6-5, 302-pound Jones, who has switched from offensive tackle to center, will seek to become only the second player to win back-to-back Outland Trophies. Nebraska center Dave Rimington, in 1981-82, is the only player to pull off the double.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb.

The **Football Writers Association of America**, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tigerfwaa@aol.com or 972-713-6198.

The **Outland Trophy** is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:

July 9: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award

July 10: Mackey Award/Riminigton Trophy

July 11: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award

July 12: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy

July 13: Jim Thorpe Award

July 16: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award

July 17: Biletnikoff Award

July 18: Davey O'Brien Award

July 19: Doak Walker Award

July 20: Walter Camp Award



# 2012 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

#### Offensive Tackles (18)

Oday Aboushi, Virginia David Bakhtiari, Colorado Chris Faulk, LSU D.J. Fluker, Alabama Caylin Hauptmann, FIU Alex Hurst, LSU James Hurst, North Carolina Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt Taylor Lewan, Michigan Zack Martin, Notre Dame Jake Matthews, Texas A&M Morgan Moses, Virginia Mark Popek, USF Justin Pugh, Syracuse Matt Summers-Gavin, California LaAdrian Waddle, Texas Tech Ricky Wagner, Wisconsin

### Centers (15)

Mario Benavides, Louisville
Braxston Cave, Notre Dame
James Ferentz, Iowa
Travis Frederick, Wisconsin
Dalton Freeman, Clemson
Ben Habern, Oklahoma
Khaled Holmes, USC
T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
Barrett Jones, Alabama
Tyler Larsen, Utah State
Andrew Miller, Virginia Tech
Graham Pocic, Illinois
Weston Richburg, Colorado State
Travis Swanson, Arkansas
Stephen Warner, Louisiana Tech

### Offensive Guards (20)

Alvin Bailey, Arkansas

Chris Barker, Nevada Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina Blaize Foltz, TCU Theo Goins, UCF Braden Hansen, BYU Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State Spencer Long, Nebraska Joe Kellogg, Boise State Chris McDonald, Michigan State Cyril Richardson, Baylor Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State Dallas Thomas, Tennessee Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech Mason Walters, Texas Larry Warford, Kentucky Chance Warmack, Alabama David Yankey, Stanford Carson York, Oregon

#### Defensive Tackles (18)

Josh Boyd, Mississippi State Everett Dawkins, Florida State Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh Sharrif Floyd, Florida Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State Jordan Hill, Penn State John Jenkins, Georgia Timmy Jernigan, Florida State Bennie Logan, LSU Star Lotulelei, Utah Roosevelt Nix, Kent State Kawann Short, Purdue Akeem Spence, Illinois Baker Steinkuhler, Nebraska Aaron Tipoti, California Joe Vellano, Maryland Jesse Williams, Alabama Sylvester Williams, North Carolina

By conference (71): SEC (19), Big Ten (12), ACC (11), Big 12 (7), Pac-12 (7), Big East (4), Independents (3), Mountain West (3), WAC (2), Conference USA (1), MAC (1), Sun Belt (1).

The **Outland Trophy** is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the **Football Writers Association of America**.