

July 11, 2013 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Steve Richardson tiger@fwaa.com 972-713-6198

## 2013 BRONKO NAGURSKI TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

DALLAS (FWAA) – South Carolina junior end Jadeveon Clowney, the lone returning finalist from last season, heads the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List of 81 standout defensive players, announced today by the Football Writers Association of America.

One of the players on the watch list most likely will be awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented annually to the national defensive player of the year by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and several independents are represented on the list that is evenly divided among linemen, linebackers and defensive backs.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. Once again, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 21.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2013 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 25-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner announcement, the

banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway. Georgia Tech's Randy Rhino, a member of the FWAA's 1972 All-America team, will be honored. Florida head coach Will Muschamp will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

The FWAA has named a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The **Football Writers Association of America**, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

The **Charlotte Touchdown Club** was founded in 1991 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or jrocco@touchdownclub.com). The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is touchdownclub.com.





S Electrolux

The **Bronko Nagurski Trophy** is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit **ncfaa.org** to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

July 8: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award July 9: Mackey Award/Riminigton Trophy July 10: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy July 12: Jim Thorpe Award July 15: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award July 16: Biletnikoff Award July 17: Davey O'Brien Award July 18: Doak Walker Award July 19: Walter Camp Award



## 2013 BRONKO NAGURSKI TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented to the National Defensive Player of the Year by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America.

## Linemen (28)

Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech Deion Barnes, Penn State Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State Morgan Breslin, USC Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina Scott Crichton, Oregon State Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh Dominique Easley, Florida Devonte Fields, TCU Ben Gardner, Stanford Ra'Shede Hageman, Minnesota Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas Timmy Jernigan, Florida State Anthony Johnson, LSU Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State Aaron Lynch, USF Kareem Martin, North Carolina Daniel McCullers, Tennessee Louis Nix III, Notre Dame Roosevelt Nix, Kent State Marcus Rush, Michigan State Tyler Scott, Northwestern Chris Smith, Arkansas Will Sutton, Arizona State Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest Leonard Williams. USC

Linebackers (27) Anthony Barr, UCLA Greg Blair, Cincinnati Chris Borland, Wisconsin Carl Bradford, Arizona State Jonathan Brown, Illinois Max Bullough, Michigan State Bryce Hager, Baylor Jordan Hicks. Texas Adrian Hubbard, Alabama Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky Shawn Jackson, Tulsa A.J. Johnson, Tennessee Christian Jones, Florida State Eric Kendricks, UCLA Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State Khalil Mack, Buffalo James Morris, Iowa C.J. Mosley, Alabama Trent Murphy, Stanford Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College Hayes Pullard, USC Ryan Shazier, Ohio State Shavne Skov, Stanford Yawin Smallwood. Connecticut Jack Tyler, Virginia Tech Kyle Van Noy, BYU

## Backs (26)

Ricardo Allen, Purdue Deion Belue, Alabama Bene Benwikere. San Jose State Tre Boston, North Carolina Christian Bryant, Ohio State Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama Ross Cockrell, Duke Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State Quandre Diggs, Texas Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon Antone Exum, Virginia Tech Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State Andre Hal, Vanderbilt Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State Craig Loston, LSU Terrance Mitchell, Oregon Marco Nelson. Tulsa Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida Ed Reynolds, Stanford Bradley Roby, Ohio State Hakeem Smith, Louisville Damian Swann, Georgia Jason Verrett, TCU Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State

**By conference (81):** SEC (16), Pac-12 (14), Big Ten (13), ACC (12), Big 12 (12), American Athletic (4), Independents (3), Conference USA (2), Mid-American (2), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt (1).