

# July 11, 2013 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Steve Richardson

tiger@fwaa.com 972-713-6198

## 2013 OUTLAND TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

**DALLAS (FWAA)** – Florida State, USC, Stanford and Tennessee combined to put 13 players on the **2013 Outland Trophy Watch List**, announced today by the **Football Writers Association of America**.

One lone, but important member of the FWAA's 2012 All-America Team – Texas A&M senior offensive tackle **Jake Matthews** – also appears among 75 players on the watch list for the Outland Trophy, which is awarded to the best interior lineman in college football.

A year ago, Matthews was on the same Aggie offensive line that included 2012 Outland Trophy winner Luke Joeckel, the No. 2 pick overall in the 2013 NFL Draft, now prepping to play for the Jacksonville Jaguars. Joeckel, also an offensive tackle, was Texas A&M's first Outland Trophy finalist.

Florida State and Stanford have never had an Outland winner in the 67-year history of the award. USC has had one winner (Ron Yary, 1967), and Tennessee has had two interior linemen claim the prestigious bronzed trophy (Steve DeLong, 1964 and John Henderson, 2000). The Aggies could have two straight winners after being shut out in the first 66 years of the award, which is the third oldest in major-college football.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Five days later three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 68th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Dec. 12 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 9, 2014 in Omaha, Neb. This year, North Carolina State center Jim Ritcher, the 1979 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award.

The **Football Writers Association of America**, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

The **Outland Trophy** is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit **ncfaa.org** to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

July 8: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award

July 9: Mackey Award/Riminigton Trophy

July 10: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award

July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy

July 12: Jim Thorpe Award

July 15: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award

July 16: Biletnikoff Award

July 17: Davey O'Brien Award

July 18: Doak Walker Award

July 19: Walter Camp Award



# 2013 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

The **Outland Trophy** is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the **Football Writers Association of America**.

#### Offensive Tackles (25)

Le'Raven Clark, Texas Tech La'el Collins, LSU Anthony Dima, Massachusetts Cameron Erving, Florida State Cameron Fleming, Stanford Kevin Graf, USC Ryan Groy, Wisconsin James Hurst, North Carolina Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee Kaleb Johnson, Rutgers Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt Tyler Johnstone, Oregon Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama Eric Lefeld, Cincinnati Charles Leno, Boise State Taylor Lewan, Michigan Cornelius Lucas, Kansas State Zack Martin, Notre Dame Jake Matthews, Texas A&M Jack Mewhort, Ohio State Morgan Moses, Virginia Antonio Richardson, Tennessee Jeremiah Sirles, Nebraska Brandon Thomas, Clemson Austin Wentworth, Fresno State

#### Offensive Guards (20)

Austen Bujnoch, Cincinnati
Chris Burnette, Georgia
A.J. Cann, South Carolina
Kevin Danser, Stanford
Trey Hopkins, Texas
Tré Jackson, Florida State
Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
Brandon Linder, Miami
Spencer Long, Nebraska
Antwan Lowery, Rutgers
John Martinez, USC
Andrew Norwell, Ohio State
Cyril Richardson, Baylor

Will Simmons, East Carolina Anthony Steen, Alabama Xavier Su'a-Filo, UCLA Laken Tomlinson, Duke John Urschel, Penn State Mason Walters, Texas David Yankey, Stanford

## Centers (11)

BJ Finney, Kansas State
Hroniss Grasu, Oregon
Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma
Zac Kerin, Toledo
Tyler Larsen, Utah State
Andrew Miller, Virginia Tech
Weston Richburg, Colorado State
Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State
Bryan Stork, Florida State
Travis Swanson, Arkansas
Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern

#### **Defensive Tackles (19)**

Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State Ryan Carrethers, Arkansas State Deandre Coleman, California Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh Dominique Easley, Florida Ra'Shede Hageman, Minnesota Chucky Hunter, TCU Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech Timmy Jernigan, Florida State Anthony Johnson, LSU DaQuan Jones, Penn State Eathyn Manumaleuna, BYU Daniel McCullers, Tennessee Louis Nix III, Notre Dame Roosevelt Nix, Kent State Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina Will Sutton, Arizona State Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest Leonard Williams, USC

By conference (75): SEC (16), Pac-12 (12), ACC (11), Big Ten (10), Big 12 (10), American Athletic (4), Mountain West (4), Independents (3), Mid-American (3), Conference USA (1), Sun Belt (1).