

July 10, 2014

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Steve Richardson tiger@fwaa.com 214-870-6516

2014 OUTLAND TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Southeastern Conference dominated the **2014 Outland Trophy Watch List** with 19 players – at least eight more prospects than any of the seven other major-college conferences represented on the 64-man list released by the **Football Writers Association of America**.

Texas A&M and South Carolina, which open the 2014 season in the first game on the SEC Network on Aug. 30, each had three linemen on the list. Other SEC schools with three players were Alabama and Auburn. The only other schools with three players were defending national champion Florida State and Oregon.

There are no returning linemen from the first-team FWAA All-America group from 2013. But Oregon center Hroniss Grasu and Iowa offensive tackle Brandon Scherff, second-teamers from last season, are on the list.

As might be expected, the five power NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision Conferences dominated. Following the SEC were the Pac-12 (11), Big Ten (9), ACC (9) and Big 12 (9). Iowa, Kansas State, Michigan State, Ole all placed teammates on the list.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 26-man first team and eventually the Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Four days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Dec. 11 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 15, 2015, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Notre Dame's Ross Browner, the 1976 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award.

The **Football Writers Association of America**, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa. com or 214-870-6516.

The **Outland Trophy** is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast nearly 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2014 preseason watch list calendar:

July 7: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award

July 8: Mackey Award/Riminigton Trophy

July 9: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award

July 10: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy

July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

July 14: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award

July 15: Biletnikoff Award July 16: Davey O'Brien Award

July 17: Doak Walker Award

July 18: Walter Camp Award



2014 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

The **Outland Trophy** is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the **Football Writers Association of America**.

Offensive Tackles (22)

Le'Raven Clark, Texas Tech La'el Collins, LSU Jack Conklin, Michigan State Jamil Douglas, Arizona State Spencer Drango, Baylor Cameron Erving, Florida State Jake Fisher, Oregon Rob Havenstein, Wisconsin Sean Hickey, Syracuse D.J. Humphries, Florida Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M Tyler Johnstone, Oregon Eric Lefeld, Cincinnati Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M Andrus Peat, Stanford Corey Robinson, South Carolina Brandon Scherff, Iowa Brandon Shell, South Carolina Donovan Smith, Penn State Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss Daryl Williams, Oklahoma Michael Yeck, BYU

Offensive Guards (14)

Vadal Alexander, LSU
A.J. Cann, South Carolina
Tré Jackson, Florida State
Kaleb Johnson, Rutgers
Arie Kouandjio, Alabama
Alex Kozan, Auburn
Cyril Lemon, North Texas
Shaquille Mason, Georgia Tech
Josue Matias, Florida State
Quinton Spain, West Virginia
Laken Tomlinson, Duke

Cody Whitehair, Kansas State Cody Wichmann, Fresno State Torrian Wilson, UCF

Centers (14)

Jack Allen, Michigan State
David Andrews, Georgia
Evan Boehm, Missouri
Jake Brendel, UCLA
Reese Dismukes, Auburn
Dominic Espinosa, Texas
B.J. Finney, Kansas State
Hroniss Grasu, Oregon
Ryan Kelly, Alabama
Mike Matthews, Texas A&M
Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State
Jake Smith, Louisville
Max Tuerk, USC
Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern

Defensive Linemen/Tackles (14)

Henry Anderson, Stanford
Michael Bennett, Ohio State
Malcom Brown, Texas
Christian Covington, Rice
Carl Davis, Iowa
Sheldon Day, Notre Dame
Chucky Hunter, TCU
Grady Jarrett, Clemson
Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech
Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama
Danny Shelton, Washington
Leonard Williams, USC
Gabe Wright, Auburn

By conference (64): SEC 19, ACC 9, Big 12 9, Big Ten 9, Pac-12 11, American Athletic 2, Conference USA 2, Independents 2, Mountain West 1.