NEWS RELEASE





FWAA Contact: Steve Richardson | 214-870-6516| tiger@fwaa.com| Twitter: @TheFWAA NFF Contact: Phil Marwill | 917-579-4256 | pmarwill@footballfoundation.com | Twitter: @NFFNetwork

Voters Announced for the FWAA-NFF College Football Poll

The FWAA and NFF assemble some of the most respected minds in college football to rank the top teams in the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll each week beginning Sept. 15.

IRVING, Texas (July 17, 2014) – The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today the names of the 2014 voters who will participate in the "FWAA-NFF Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll," a ranking of the top teams in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision that will be released each week beginning **Sept. 15**. The 2014 FWAA-NFF Grantland Rice Super 16 voters include:

- Mark Anderson*, Las Vegas Review-Journal
- Chris Ault, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2002
- Lee Barfknecht*, Omaha World-Herald
- Tony Barnhart*, SEC Network
- David Barron*, Houston Chronicle
- Mark Blaudschun*, AJerseyGuy.com
- Murry Bowden, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2003 and NFF Vice Chairman
- Gil Brandt*, NFL.com
- Chuck Carlton*, The Dallas Morning News
- Gene Corrigan, NFF Board Member
- Brian Davis*, Austin American-Statesman
- Gene DeFilippo, NFF Board Member
- **Dennis Dodd***, CBSSports.com
- **Bob Epling**, NFF Board Member
- Jack Ford, CBS 60 Minutes Sports Correspondent and NFF Board Member
- Teddy Greenstein*, Chicago Tribune
- Andrew Greif*, The Oregonian
- **Mike Griffith***, MLive.com
- Wally Hall*, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
- Matt Hayes*, The Sporting News

- Tommy Hicks*, AL.com
- Ron Higgins*, NoLa.com/The Times Picayune
- Dave Jones*, PA Media Group
- Ryan Kartje*, Orange County Register
- Blair Kerkhoff*, Kansas City Star
- Jack Lengyel, NFF Board Member
- Kelly Lyell*, Fort Collins Coloradoan
- **Don McPherson**, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2008
- Matthew Murschel*, Orlando Sentinel
- Chuck Neinas, NFF Board Member
- Randy Peterson*, Des Moines Register
- **Jeff Shain***, PrimeSportsNetwork.com
- **Phil Steele***, Phil Steele Publications
- Patrick Stevens*, Syracuse.com
- Barry Switzer, College Football Hall of Famer Class of 2001
- David Teel*, Newport News Daily Press
- John Wagner*, Toledo Blade
- Dick Weiss*, Blue Star Media
- Rod West, NFF Board Member
- Reggie Williams, College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2007
- **Bud Withers***, Seattle Times

*FWAA Member

"We have assembled a group of highly knowledgeable voters who will collectively provide an objective and credible view of the top college football teams each week," said NFF President & CEO **Steve Hatchell**. "We are extremely pleased to partner with the FWAA on the launch of the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, which will provide a compelling reference point for fans to follow during the college football season."

The decision to conduct the new poll was announced in February at the conclusion of the 2013 season and the end of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) era. Long-time partners since the formation of the two organizations in the 1940s, the FWAA and NFF voters will rank the top 16 teams in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision. The poll will be announced on Mondays during the 2014 season. The first poll will take place **Sept. 15**, culminating with a final release on **Dec. 7**, the day after the conference championship games. **The votes of each member will be made public each week during the season.**

"We feel this is a very distinguished, highly objective panel of voters who have followed college football intensely over decades," said 2014 FWAA President **Kirk Bohls**. "In this historic era of college football with its first-ever playoff, the FWAA is proud to play an important role and very much hopes to lend a serious voice to the rich debate over the best teams in the country."

The pollsters announced today consist of FWAA writers, College Football Hall of Famers, NFF Board Members and highly regarded collegiate administrators. The poll aims to draw on the vast knowledge of the group and their extensive experience in college football. The voters were selected to create a balanced-geographical perspective, coming from different conferences and regions of the country, as well as a diversity of viewpoints from the different roles associated with the game.

The poll is named in honor of **Grantland Rice**, the great sportswriter who became an influential leader of the NFF during its early years in the late 1940s. Rice played a key role in the history of both organizations as an FWAA member and NFF president. His name adorns the FWAA national championship trophy that has been presented since 1954, and he helped select the FWAA All-America teams until his death in 1954. The FWAA, which possesses a reputation as one of the foremost objective voices in college football, has conducted a pre-season poll for a number of years and has also had a weekly poll in the past.

ABOUT THE FOOTBALL WRITERS ASSOCATION OF AMERICA

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information visit www.sportswriters.net.

ABOUT THE NATIONAL FOOTBALL FOUNDATION & COLLEGE HALL OF FAME

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, the NFF Leadership Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF Faculty Salute Initiative presented by Fidelity Investments, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than \$1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF also collaborates with the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) to release the FWAA-NFF Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll; presents the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth and hosted at the New York Athletic Club; and bestows several other major awards at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, PrimeSport, the Sports Business Journal, and Under Armour. Learn more at www.footballfoundation.org.