FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee October 12, 2016



ARKANSAS' FRANK RAGNOW NOMINATED FOR CAPITAL ONE ORANGE BOWL-FWAA COURAGE AWARD

DALLAS (FWAA) – Arkansas' Frank Ragnow is this week's nominee for the **2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award**.

Ragnow's father, Jon, died of a heart attack Oct. 1. Ragnow flew to his home in Victoria, Minn., with Razorbacks coach Bret Bielema and his wife, Jen, to be with his family. He returned to Fayetteville last Thursday and played in Saturday's game against No. 1 Alabama, having prepared for the Crimson Tide from home while staying in touch with his teammates and coaches.

"I know this one hurt afterward," Bielema said of Ragnow, according to SECCountry.com. "I had a chance to grab him before he walked off the field. He's a very, very strong kid. An incredible football player. But obviously a really good person and a great son."

Ragnow, a junior, has started 19 straight games for the Razorbacks. He entered this season on the watch list for the Rimington Award after a 2015 campaign that saw him surrender just two sacks on the season while not committing a penalty over the final nine games.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2016. For more information on the 2016-17 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to <u>www.orangebowl.org</u>. Follow Orange Bowl: <u>@OrangeBowl, Facebook</u> and <u>Instagram</u>.

About the FWAA

The Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, or to submit a nomination for this year's Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.

2016 Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 14: James Conner, Pittsburgh
- Sept. 21: Caylin Moore, TCU
- Sept. 28: Riley Sorenson, Washington State
- Oct. 5: Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State
- Oct. 12: Frank Ragnow, Arkansas

*Editor's Note: High quality photos of nominee available upon request.

###