

July 8, 2016 **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

Contact: Steve Richardson tiger@fwaa.com 214-870-6516

2016 OUTLAND TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

DALLAS (FWAA) — The **Football Writers Association of America** announced its **2016 Outland Trophy Watch List** on Friday, with 70 standout interior linemen from all 10 FBS conferences represented.

The SEC (12) led all conferences, followed by the Big Ten (11), ACC (10), Pac-12 (10), Big 12 (6), American Athletic (4), Conference USA (4), Independents (4), Mountain West (4), Mid-American (3) and Sun Belt (2).

The list includes 22 offensive tackles, 20 offensive guards, 17 defensive tackles and 11 centers. It can be trimmed or enlarged during the regular season as players emerge or drop out of play.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Thurs., Nov. 17. Five days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 71st Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century – will be announced on live on ESPN on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Thurs., Dec. 8. For the second straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation's College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 11, 2017, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Oklahoma's Greg Roberts, the 1978 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award. In addition, former Oklahoma coach Barry Switzer, will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 722 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 22 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2016 preseason watch list calendar:

Tues., July 5: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award Wed., July 6: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Thurs., July 7: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Fri., July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Mon., July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

Tues., July 12: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Wed., July 13: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy

Thurs., July 14: Davey O'Brien Award / Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 15: Walter Camp Award / Paul Hornung Award

The **Football Writers Association of America**, founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.



2016 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

The **Outland Trophy** is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the **Football Writers Association of America**

CENTERS (11)

Brian Allen, Michigan State
J.T. Boyd, East Carolina
Mason Cole, Michigan
Kyle Fuller, Baylor
Jay Guillermo, Clemson
Nick Linder, Miami
Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia
Ethan Pocic, LSU
Cameron Tom, Southern Miss
Jon Toth, Kentucky
Dan Voltz, Wisconsin

OFFENSIVE GUARDS (20)

Chris Borrayo, California Parker Collins, Appalachian State Tyrone Crowder, Clemson Pat Elflein, Ohio State Dan Feeney, Indiana Daniel Isidora, Miami Martez Ivey, Florida Dorian Johnson, Pittsburgh Alex Kozan, Auburn Ului Lapuaho, BYU Damien Mama, USC Billy Price, Ohio State Greg Pyke, Georgia Chase Roullier, Wyoming Nico Siragusa, San Diego State Braden Smith, Auburn Chris Taylor, Tulane Wyatt Teller, Virginia Tech Dylan Wiesman, Tennessee Fred Zerblis, Colorado State

OFFENSIVE TACKLES (22)

Zach Banner, USC Adam Bisnowaty, Pittsburgh Orlando Brown, Oklahoma Austin Corbett, Nevada Tyrell Crosby, Oregon Dion Dawkins, Temple J.J. Dielman, Utah Antonio Garcia, Troy Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M Jon Heck, North Carolina Roderick Johnson, Florida State Forrest Lamp, Western Kentucky Erik Magnuson, Michigan Conor McDermott, UCLA Mike McGlinchey, Notre Dame Taylor Moton, Western Michigan Storm Norton, Toledo Cam Robinson, Alabama Dan Skipper, Arkansas Clint Van Horn, Marshall Chad Wheeler, USC Connor Williams, Texas

DEFENSIVE TACKLES (17)

Montravius Adams, Auburn Will Geary, Kansas State Davon Godchaux, LSU Darius Hamilton, Rutgers Treyvon Hester, Toledo Jaleel Johnson, Iowa Jarron Jones, Notre Dame Lowell Lotulelei, Utah Malik McDowell, Michigan State Larry Ogunjobi, Charlotte Jake Replogle, Purdue Tashon Smallwood, Arizona State Tanzel Smart, Tulane Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State Travis Tuiloma, BYU Eddie Vanderdoes, UCLA Carlos Watkins, Clemson