FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee October 25, 2017



Hope Carpinello <u>hcarpinello@orangebowl.org</u> 305-341-4734

VIRGINIA TECH'S SEAN SAVOY NOMINATED FOR CAPITAL ONE ORANGE BOWL-FWAA COURAGE AWARD

DALLAS (FWAA) – Virginia Tech's **Sean Savoy** is this week's nominee for the **2017 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award**.



Savoy, a freshman wide receiver, started in the Hokies' win Saturday against North Carolina, their first game after Savoy's brother, Omar Rodgers, was shot and killed.

"It kind of helped me a little bit ease the pain," Savoy told reporters of playing in the game. "But when I go out there and I don't see him out there anymore it touched me a little bit, because I know he's with me but I'm used to seeing him right there right behind the bench rooting me on."

Savoy made a big play on Virginia Tech's first play from scrimmage in a 59-7 win, as he caught a pass on a slant route for a 23-yard gain. The 5-foot-8, 188-pounder from Washington D.C. wore a shirt underneath his jersey honoring his brother, a singer who was reportedly shot five times the morning of Oct. 8 in the parking lot of a bar he had performed at.

Hours earlier, Savoy had posted a career-best nine catches and 159 receiving yards in a win at Boston College. For the season, Savoy is second on the Hokies in receptions (28), receiving yards (360) yards and receiving touchdowns (three). He has added 44 rushing yards and one rushing touchdown.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Pittsburgh running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2017. For more information on the 2017-18 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to <u>orangebowl.org</u>. Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

Founded in 1941, the **Football Writers Association of America** consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at <u>tiger@fwaa.com</u>.

2017 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 13: J-Shun Harris II, Indiana | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 20: William Lee, Northern Illinois | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 27: Cristian Garcia, Florida | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 4: D'Cota Dixon, Wisconsin | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 11: Jake Olson, USC | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 18: Darian Roseboro, NC State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 25: Sean Savoy, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot

Social Media Link: •

###