FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee November 15, 2017



Hope Carpinello hcarpinello@orangebowl.org 305-341-4734

OKLAHOMA'S RODNEY ANDERSON NOMINATED FOR CAPITAL ONE ORANGE BOWL-FWAA COURAGE AWARD

DALLAS (FWAA) – Oklahoma's **Rodney Anderson** is this week's nominee for the **2017 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award**.



Anderson, a redshirt sophomore running back, has overcome season-ending injuries in each of his first two years with the Sooners to become one of the Big 12's top rushers. Anderson sustained a broken bone in his neck in fall camp in 2016, ending his season before it began. He also suffered a broken leg just two games into his true freshman campaign in 2015.

"When [they] told me I couldn't play the second year, it really hurt," Anderson told ESPN.com this spring. "But there's a silver lining in everything. I guess the good thing I got out of it was I got two years to mentally prepare myself. The bad thing is that I didn't get to showcase it."

Anderson was named the Big 12 offensive player of the week for the second time in three weeks after tallying a career-high 290 all-purpose yards in Saturday's win against TCU. The 6-foot-2, 218-pounder rushed for 151 yards and two touchdowns and caught five passes for 139 yards and two more scores against a Horned Frogs defense that had entered the contest ranked No. 1 nationally against the run.

Anderson became the first FBS player since at least 1996 to post at least 139 rushing yards and 139 receiving yards in a game. The Katy, Texas native is fifth in the Big 12 in rushing (672 yards), second in yards per carry (6.17) and tied for fourth in rushing touchdowns (seven).

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship.

The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Pittsburgh running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2017. For more information on the 2017-18 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to orangebowl.org. Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

Founded in 1941, the **Football Writers Association of America** consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.

2017 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 13: J-Shun Harris II, Indiana | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 20: William Lee, Northern Illinois | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 27: Cristian Garcia, Florida | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 4: D'Cota Dixon, Wisconsin | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 11: Jake Olson, USC | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 18: Darian Roseboro, NC State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 25: Sean Savoy, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot
- Nov. 1: Courtney Love, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
- Nov. 8: UAB Blazers
- Nov. 15: Rodney Anderson, Oklahoma | High-resolution headshot

Social Media Link: http://bit.ly/2A1nIGD