

July 13, 2017 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Steve Richardson tiger@fwaa.com

tiger@twaa.com 214-870-6516

## 2017 OUTLAND TROPHY WATCH LIST UNVEILED

**DALLAS (FWAA)** — The **Football Writers Association of America** announced its **2017 Outland Trophy Watch List** on Thursday, with 81 standout interior linemen from all 10 Division I FBS conferences represented.

Two of the three 2016 Outland Trophy finalists are on the 2017 watch list – Washington State's senior offensive guard Cody O'Connell and Texas junior offensive tackle Connor Williams. Both were first-team FWAA All-Americans in 2016 and finished behind Alabama offensive tackle Cam Robinson, who claimed the 2016 Outland Trophy and was selected in the second round of the 2017 NFL Draft (No. 34 overall) by the Jacksonville Jaguars.

In addition, there are four other 2016 FWAA All-Americans on the 2017 Outland Trophy Watch List: Clemson defensive tackle Christian Wilkins (first team), and Washington offensive tackle Trey Adams, Oklahoma offensive tackle Orlando Brown and Houston defensive tackle Ed Oliver from the second team.

The ACC (17) led all conferences with members on the Watch List, followed by the Big Ten and SEC (11 each), Pac-12 (10), American Athletic (9), Big 12 and Mid-American (6 each), Independents and Mountain West (4 each), Conference USA (2) and Sun Belt (1).

The list includes 24 offensive tackles, 21 defensive tackles, 20 centers and 16 offensive guards.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Wed, Nov. 15. Six days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 72nd Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced live on ESPN at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 7. For the third straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation's College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2018 in Omaha, Neb. Former Florida State coach Bobby Bowden will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association** (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a two-week period this month. Sixteen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2017 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 10: Bednarik Award/Maxwell Award Tues., July 11: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy Wed., July 12: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award <u>Thurs., July 13: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy</u> Fri., July 14: Jim Thorpe Award Mon., July 17: Butkus Award/Paul Hornung Award Tues., July 18: Biletnikoff Award/Wuerffel Trophy Wed., July 19: Davey O'Brien Award Thurs., July 20: Doak Walker Award Fri., July 21: Walter Camp Award

The **Football Writers Association of America**, founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.



# 2017 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LIST

The **Outland Trophy** is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the **Football Writers Association of America** 

#### **CENTERS (20)**

Brian Allen, Michigan State Jake Bennett, Colorado State Bradley Bozeman, Alabama Evan Brown, SMU Will Clapp, LSU Mason Cole, Michigan James Daniels, Iowa Austin Davis, Duke Michael Deiter, Wisconsin Alec Eberle, Florida State John Keenoy, Western Michigan Tejan Koroma, BYU Chandler Miller, Tulsa Alex Officer, Pitt Billy Price, Ohio State Jake Pruehs, Ohio Scott Quessenberry, UCLA Frank Ragnow, Arkansas Austin Schlottmann, TCU Coleman Shelton, Washington

#### **OFFENSIVE GUARDS (16)**

Tony Adams, N.C. State Beau Benzschawel, Wisconsin Kyle Bosch, West Virginia Parker Braun, Georgia Tech Tyrone Crowder, Clemson O'Shea Dugas, Louisiana Tech Hialte Froholdt, Arkansas Colby Gossett, Appalachian State Will Hernandez, UTEP Gabe Kuhn, Memphis Jimmy Leatiota, Eastern Michigan Evan Martin, Navy Quenton Nelson, Notre Dame Cody O'Connell, Washington State Jashon Robertson, Tennessee Sean Welsh, Iowa

#### **OFFENSIVE TACKLES (24)**

Trey Adams, Washington Orlando Brown, Oklahoma Geron Christian, Louisville Austin Corbett, Nevada Tyrell Crosby, Oregon Nick Gates, Nebraska Mitch Hyatt, Clemson Martez Ivey, Florida Jamarco Jones, Ohio State Archie Lewis, Boise State Evan Lisle, Duke Greg Little, Ole Miss Mike McGlinchey, Notre Dame Elijah Nkansah, Toledo Brian O'Neill, Pitt Chukwuma Okorafor, Western Michigan Evan Plagg, Tulsa Dalton Risner, Kansas State Max Scharping, NIU Braden Smith, Auburn Bentley Spain, North Carolina Brett Toth, Army West Point Connor Williams, Texas Jonah Williams, Alabama

### **DEFENSIVE TACKLES (21)**

Drew Bailey, Louisville Folorunso Fatukasi, UConn Greg Gaines, Washington Will Geary, Kansas State Rasheem Green, USC B.J. Hill, N.C. State Maurice Hurst, Michigan Dexter Lawrence, Clemson Lowell Lotulelei, Utah David Moa, Boise State Derrick Nnadi, Florida State Kendrick Norton, Miami Ed Oliver, Houston Da'Ron Payne, Alabama Harrison Phillips, Stanford Jamiyus Pittman, UCF Steven Richardson, Minnesota Deadrin Senat, USF Trent Thompson, Georgia Vita Vea, Washington Christian Wilkins, Clemson

**By conference (81):** ACC (17), Big Ten (11), SEC (11), Pac-12 (10), American Athletic (9), Big 12 (6), Mid-American (6), Independents (4), Mountain West (4), Conference USA (2), Sun Belt (1).