

Jardin May jmay@orangebowl.org 305-341-4785

# Virginia Tech's Caleb Farley Named Newest Nominee for 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award



MIAMI LAKES, FL. (<u>www.orangebowl.org</u>) - Virginia Tech's Caleb Farley is this week's nominee for the **2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award**. Farley, a redshirt freshman, lost his mother, Robin, to cancer in January, after missing the 2017 campaign with a knee injury.

"She meant everything to us," Caleb's father Robert told The Athletic in August. "She is one of the most wonderful people I've ever experienced or been around in my entire life."

"She had a lot of love in her heart," Caleb told The Athletic.

Farley has started all four games for the 3-1 Hokies at defensive back. The 6-foot-2, 202-pound Farley entered Blacksburg, Va., as a defensive back before switching to receiver, the position he was playing while he got injured. He switched back to defensive back in 2018.

Farley had three tackles in a 31-14 win Saturday at Duke. For the season, Farley has nine tackles, one sack, one hurry, two interceptions and two pass breakups.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

## Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

2017 D'Cota Dixon - Wisconsin
2016 James Conner – Pittsburgh
2015 Hunter Knighton - Miami
2014 Laken Tomlinson - Duke
2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose State

2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose S2012 Daniel Rodriguez - Clemson2011 Arthur Ray - Michigan State2010 Eric LeGrand - Rutgers

**2009** University of Connecticut Football Team

**2008** Wilson Holloway - Tulsa **2007** Zerbin Singleton - Navy

**2006** Ray Ray McElrathbey - Clemson

2005 Tulane Football Team2004 Haracia Colen - Memphis2003 Neil Parry - San Jose State2002 William Bratton - Toledo

#### **2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees**

- Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame | High-resolution headshot

#### Related link:

http://game.orangebowl.org/honors/courageaward/

### **About the Orange Bowl**

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-2019 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to <a href="https://www.orangebowl.org">www.orangebowl.org</a> or follow the @OrangeBowl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

###