(Volume 41, No. 2, Mar. 2, 2002)

Feb. 5—Hitter: Chad Corona, OF, San Diego State; Pitcher: Ryan Schroyer, P, Arizona State Feb. 12—Hitter: Shaun Larkin, 2B, Cal State Northridge; Pitcher: Phillip Aragon, Nicholls State

Feb. 19—Hitter: Ryan Schade, SS, Western Carolina; Pitcher: Jared Theodorakos, Baylor

Feb. 26—Hitter: Jesse Crain, SS, Houston; Co-Pitchers: Shane Komine, Nebraska; Joe Linde, Eastern Michigan.

'Canes to Face Florida Marlins on March 6

This 'N That in the Early Going

Alabama opened the 2002 with its school-record ninth straight opening day win, posting a 4-0 victory over Louisiana Tech Tuesday night at Sewell-Thomas Stadium. 'Bama has won every season opener since 1994, including all eight under Coach Jim Wells. The previous record was eight straight opening day wins set from 1901-08. The game also marked the Crimson Tide's ninth straight home opener, also a school record.

Performing key roles in some of the early contests 2002 have been two of the Iowa State transfers who starred for coach Lyle Smith before the program was dropped after the 2001 season. Texas pitcher Alan Bomer of Altoona, Iowa, was 1-0 with a 2.16 ERA and 11 strikeouts in his first 8 1/3 innings while Texas Tech IF Jake Brown of Prescott Valley, Ariz., started the first three games of 2002 at 3B for the Red Raiders and drove in four runs in his first eight contests. Missouri P Aaron Patterson of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, is expected to see ample action in '02 while other former ISU standouts are Central Florida P Lincoln Mincks and Illinois OF Brandon Cashman.

UC Riverside head baseball coach Jack Smith won his 1,000th career game with a 9-5 triumph over then-No. 22-nationally San Diego on Feb. 18. The Jan. 4, 2002, inductee into the American Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame began the year with a 997-705-3 mark for 31 years and was 874-644-3 at UC Riverside for his first 28 campaigns prior to the 2002 season. He also guided UCR to Division II national championships in both 1977 and 1982.

Texas - 13

Pat Borders, Patrick Boyd, R.A. Dickey, Kelly Dransfeldt, Rusty Greer, Gerald Laird, Ryan Ludwick, Chris Magruder, Jay Powell, Mario Ramos, Alex Rodriguez, Ed Sprague, Mark Teixeira

Tampa Bay - 12

Brent Abernathy, Dewon Brazelton, Carl Crawford, Doug Creek, Ryan Freel, Chris Gomez, Russ Johnson, Bobby Seay, Jon Switzer, Jason Tyner, Matt White, Paul Wilson

Chicago - 10

Rocky Biddle, Joe Borchard, Royce Clayton, Mark Dalesandro, Brad Penny, Kennie Steenstra, Matt Ginter, Mark Johnson, Paul Konerko, Jim Parque, Jon Rauch, Frank Thomas

Cleveland - 9

Josh Bard, Milton Bradley, Ryan Drese, Tim Drew, Brooks Kieschnick, Charles Nagy, Jason Phillips, Paul Shuey, Jason Stanford

Detroit - 9

Matt Anderson, Jacob Cruz, Shane Loux, Eric Munson, Craig Paquette, Adam Pettyjohn, Brian Powell, Jeff Weaver, Criag Wilson

Kansas City - 8

Jeff Austin, Paul Byrd, Chris George, A.J. Hinch, Chuck Knoblauch, David McCarty, Mike Tonis, Michael Tucker

Minnesota - 7

Casey Blake, Michael Cuddyer, Jacque Jones, Matt LeCroy, Joe Mauer, Doug Mientkiewicz, J.C. Romero

Seattle - 7

Ryan Anderson, Willie Bloomquist, Ben Davis, Ryan Franklin, Gil Meche, John Olerud, Dan Wilson

Anaheim - 6

Jorge Fabregas, Troy Glaus, Jason Hill, Adam Kennedy,

Cincinnati - 14

Brian Bohanon, Aaron Boone, Ben Broussard, Travis Dawkins, Seth Etherton, David Espinosa, Danny Graves, Joey Hamilton, Austin Kearns, Barry Larkin, Jesse Levis, Todd Walker, Anthony Sanders, Dane Sardinha

Arizona - 9

Troy Brohawn, Brad Cresse, Rick Helling, Steve Finley, Jonathan Johnson, Willie Morales, John Patterson, Jeremy Ward, Matt Williams

Florida - 9

Matt Erickson, Geoff Goetz, Charlie Greene, Charles Johnson, Braden Looper, Marty Malloy, Preston Wilson

Los Angeles - 9

Jeff Branson, Kevin Brown, Darren Dreifort, Tom Goodwin, Shawn Green, Koyie Hill, Mike Kinkade, Dave Roberts, **Todd Williams**

San Diego - 7

Sean Burroughs, Ryan Klesko, Mark Kotsay, Jason Middlebrook, Xavier Nady, Phil Nevin, Andy Shibilo

St. Louis - 7

Rick Ankiel, Andy Benes, J.D. Drew, Tino Martinez, Matt Morris, Chris Snopek, Ernie Young

Milwaukee - 7

Jeff Deardorff, Jeffrey Hammonds, Geoff Jenkins, Marcus Jensen, Andrew Lorraine, Ben Sheets, Jon Zuber

Chicago - 6

Mark Bellhorn, Joe Girardi, Bobby Hill, Augie Ojeda, Corey Patterson, Mark Prior

Montreal - 6

Michael Barrett, Peter Bergeron, Josh Karp, Scott Stewart, Justin Wayne, Brad Wilkerson

New York - 6

Darren Bragg, Jeremy Burnitz, Jeff D'Amico, Aaron Heilman,

Aaron Sele, Scott Spiezio

David Peoples, Mo Vaughn

New York - 6

Jason Giambi, Todd Greene, Mike Mussina, Jay Tessmer, Jon Vander Wal, Robin Ventura Pittsburgh - 6

Kris Benson, Mike Fetters, Shawn Gilbert, Warren Morris, Gregg Olson, Ron Villone

Baltimore - 5

Chad Allen, Albert Belle, Eric DuBose, Matt Riley, Brian Roberts Atlanta - 5

Albie Lopez, Mike Remlinger, John Smoltz, B.J. Surhoff, Dan Wheeler

Boston - 5

Casey Fossum, Nomar Garciaparra, Dustin Hermanson, Jason Varitek, Tim Young Colorado - 5

J.D. Closser, Scott Elarton, Jason Jennings, Todd Helton, Matt Holliday

Oakland - 4

Billy Koch, Chad Meyers, Mark Mulder, Adam Piatt **Houston - 5**

Adam Everett, Roy Oswalt, Tom Shearn, Gregg Zaun, Alan Zinter

Toronto - 3

Scott Cassidy, Jose Cruz Jr., Orlando Hudson Philadelphia - 5

Pat Burrell, Dave Hollins, Travis Lee, Eric Valent, Randy Wolf

randy won

San Francisco - 3

Kurt Ainsworth, Calvin Murray, Scott Servais

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, publication and writing contests. Additionally, the organization will be launching a website this spring at www.ncbwa.com. For membership, send annual dues (\$15.00), along with mailing address, phone, fax and e-mail address information to Russell Anderson, NCBWA Treasurer, c/o Conference USA, 35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60601.

NCBWA 2001-02 OFFICERS

Treasurer – Past Pres. Russell Anderson, C-USA 312/553-0483

rdanderson@c-usa.org

President	Barry Allen, Alabama ballen@ia.ua.edu	205/348-6084	
1 st Vice President	Kip Carlson, Oregon State kip.carlson@.orst.edu	541/737-3072	
2 nd Vice President	Rob Carolla, Big East	401-272-9108	
3 rd Vice President	Jeff Hurd, Western Athletic	Conference	
Executive Director	jhurd@wac.org Bo Carter, Big 12 bo@big12sports.com	303-799-9221 214/753-0102	
	CLIP AN	ND MAIL	
NAME			
AFFILIATION			
OFFICE ADDRESS			
CITY		STATE	ZIP
HOME ADDRESS			
CITY		STATE	ZIP
OFFICE PHONE			
HOME PHONE			
FAX E-MAIL ADDRESS			

MAKE CHECK (\$15.00) PAYABLE TO:

NCBWA

REMIT TO:

Russell Anderson NCBWA Treasurer c/o Conference USA 35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 650 Chicago, IL 60601