

## NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(June 6, 2001) ncbwa.com

## NCBWA ANNOUNCES 2001 ALL-AMERICAN TEAMS

CHICAGO-In a season in which there were many team "overcomers" in NCAA Division I baseball, the 13th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers All-America team reflects a solid group of student-athletes, many of whom overachieved in taking their teams to new heights in 2001.

The 2001 selections, released Wednesday by NCBWA, include five players from NCAA World Series first-time entrants Tulane and Nebraska.

The first unit also is loaded with all-star starting pitchers in the persons of Southern California's Mark Prior, Middle Tennessee's Dewon Brazelton and Notre Dame's Aaron Heilman. That trio had a combined record of 42-3 through games of June 4, 2001, and Prior and Brazelton were the second and third selections overall, respectively, in Tuesday's first round of the Major League Baseball draft. The three standouts also struck out a composite 464 opposing hitters in 372 2/3 innings while the relief pitchers on the first team combined for 31 saves.

All nine standouts who were named 2001 NCBWA Players of the Year for Division I made one of the first three units as the first unit had almost a complete turnover from the 2000 NCBWA All-America team.

The middle infield includes two of the top hitters-fielders in the nation in Dick Howser Trophy finalist SS Chris Burke of Tennessee and 2B Chris O'Riordan of Stanford, which joins the Volunteers in the eight-team NCAA World Series field.

Burke was chosen Player of the Year in the Southeastern Conference and is the No. 8 batting average man in NCAA Division I statistics prior to the CWS with a .439 mark, 19 home runs and 39 RBI. O'Riordan scored the

winning run in Stanford's 10-9 victory over Texas in the 2001 Stanford Regional and has been a solid cog in the Cardinal's offense all year with a .374 average, 12 homers and 66 RBI.

Miami's Javy Rodriguez, who is the nation's base stealing leader with 66 for the World Seriesbound Hurricanes, is the very capable second team shortstop with a .384 average, five homers and 58 RBI. Backing O'Riordan on the NCBWA All-America second team contingent is Memphis' Daniel Uggla, who rose from relative obscurity to pace the Tigers with a .379 average, 18 homer and 67 RBI.

The first team third baseman, Jake Gautreau, of Tulane also had very credible numbers as a sophomore in 2000, but few envisioned that he would lead the Green Wave of Conference USA to a 55-11 record, a NCAA New Orleans Super Regional victory over LSU, and the team's initial trip to the World Series under head coach Rick Jones this year. The hard-hitting 3B is batting .354 with 20 homers and 91 RBI at the 65-game mark. The second unit third baseman had similar success as Clemson's Jeff Baker belted 23 home runs and drove in 75 runs.

Fellow first-timer in Omaha 1B Dan Johnson (24 HR, 85 RBI to lead the Big 12 Conference) of Nebraska joins Baylor catcher Kelly Shoppach as their conference's first team representatives.

In the designated hitter/utility-athlete position arguably the nation's top slugger is on the No. 1 team. Kent State's John Vanbenchoten not only used his hitting to get KSU into the 2001 NCAA Regionals, but he also showed pitching prowess with a 2-2 record, 2.77 ERA and eight saves in 21 appearances. His power numbers included a current-national-leading 31 home runs with 84 RBI for the Mid-American Conference representative in the 2001 NCAA meet.

The starting outfield for the 2001 NCBWA All-America squad includes the top hitter in the Pacific-10 Conference, UCLA's Brian Baron (.443), along with a pair of Atlantic Coast Conference stalwarts. Florida State's John-Ford Griffin, whose team made it to Omaha in 2000 but was edged out for a 2001 berth by Georgia, hit .450 to post the nation's fourth-best batting average while Wake Forest's Cory Sullivan finished the year at .390 with 13 home runs and 67 RBI.

In all, the 43 student-athletes comprising the top three teams of elite diamondmen represent the cream of the college diamond crop and the seven finalists from which the 2001 Dick Howser Trophy will be chosen on Friday, June 8, with a 10:30 a.m. (CDT) news conference in the Old Lobby (2nd Floor) of the Marriott Courtyard in Omaha. The seven are Brazelton, Burke, Heilman, Nebraska first baseman Dan Johnson, catcher Casey Myers of Arizona State, Prior, and Vanbenschoten.

FIRST TEAM Pos. Name, School	Class	D A	AB	R	Н	HR	RBI		
1B Dan Johnson, Nebraska	Sr.	.360	222	75	80	24	85		
2B Chris O'Riordan, Stanford	Jr.	.374	265	60	99	12	66		
3B Jake Gautreau, Tulane	Jr.	.354	280	81	99	20	91		
SS Chris Burke, Tennessee (43 SB)	Jr.	.439	253	98	111	19	59		
C Kelly Shoppach, Baylor	Jr.	.397	233	51	93	12	68		
OF Brian Baron, UCLA	Sr.	.443	237	62	105	9	47		
OF John-Ford Griffin, Florida State	Jr.	.450	251	77	113	18	76		
OF Cory Sullivan, Wake Forest	Sr.	.390	264	85	103	13	67		
UT/ATH John Vanbenschoten, Kent	Jr.	.440	225	74	99	31	84		
(8 saves)	2-2	2.77	21	48.2	34	26	63		
Pos. Name School	Cl.	W-L	ERA	G	IP	Н	BB	so	SV
SP Dewon Brazelton, Middle Tenn.	Jr.	13-2	1.42	15	127	88	24	154	0
SP Aaron Heilman, Notre Dame	Sr.	15-0	1.74	15	114	70	31	111	0
SP Mark Prior, Southern California	Sr.	14-1	1.50	19	131.2	91	17	189	0
RP Lee Gronkiewicz, So. Carolina	Jr.	2-1	1.31	36	61.2	31	23	77	19
RP Casey Shumaker, Jacksonville	So.	7-5	1.91	33	75.1	49	37	117	12
SECOND TEAM									
Pos. Name, School	Class	BA	AB	R	H	HR	RBI		
1B Greg Dobbs, Oklahoma	Sr.	.428	243	53	104	10	63		
2B Daniel Uggla, Memphis	Jr.	.379	214	72	81	18	67		
3B Jeff Baker, Clemson	So.	.369	233	66	86	23	69		
SS Javy Rodriguez, Miami (Fla.)-66		.384	224	58	86	5	58		
C Casey Myers, Arizona State	Sr.	.395	223	49	79	12	66		
OF Frank Corr, Stetson	Sr.	.360	189	51	68	16	54		
OF Billy McCarthy, Rutgers	Jr.	.421	216	48	91	6	64		
OF Jason Knoedler, Miami (Ohio)	Jr.	.402	239	79	96	11	48		
P/UT/ATH Barry Matthews, Gonzag	a Sr.	.353	202	43	67	10	31		
		9-2	3.21	14	106	104	14	93	0
Pos. Name School	Cl.	W-L	ERA	G	IP	H	BB	SO	SV
SP Kenny Baugh, Rice	Sr.	13-2	2.17	22	141.1	86	46	140	0
SP Nate Fernley, Brigham Young	Sr.	16-3	3.16	21	152.2	133	31	132	0
SP Kirk Saarloos, Cal St. Fullerton	Sr.	15-2	2.24	24	144.2	94	23	150	4
RP Dave Bush, Wake Forest	Jr.	3-3	2.65	41	74.2	57	19	85	16
RP Andy Torres, Arizona State	Jr.	13-4	3.66	27	82	91	29	76	1

THIRD TEAM									
Pos. Name, School	Class	BA	AB	R	H	HR	RBI		
1B Joseph Hastings, East Carolina	Sr.	.339	245	61	83	13	62		
2B Josh Renick, Middle Tennessee	Sr.	.422	223	74	94	8	38		
3B Kevin Youkilis, Cincinnati	Sr.	.405	210	81	85	18	61		
SS Brendan Harris, William & Mary	Jr.	.389	211	72	82	18	69		
C Chris Shelton, Utah	Jr.	.374	203	59	76	19	66		
OF Sam Fuld, Stanford	Fr.	.349	212	53	74	0	31		
OF Todd Leathers, Winthrop (32 2B)	Jr.	.392	189	58	74	10	53		
OF Casey Stone, Clemson (26 SB)	Sr.	.376	255	56	96	2	47		
P/UT/ATH Trevor Leu, Oral Roberts	Sr.	.415	135	27	56	6	38		
(tie)		8-3	4.73	15	85.2	81	41	102	0
P/UT/ATH Kevin Kirkby, St. Joseph'	s Sr.	.392	171	38	67	2	41		
		1-1	1.74	12	10.1	8	3	7	7
Pos. Name School	Cl.	W-L	<b>ERA</b>	$\mathbf{G}$	IP	H	BB	SO	SV
SP William Collazo, Fla. Intern'l	Sr.	11-0	2.87	17	120.1	104	36	136	0
SP Jeremy Guthrie, Stanford	So.	12-4	2.50	18	125.2	111	38	121	0
SP Shane Komine, Nebraska	Jr.	14-1	3.28	17	123.2	122	35	148	0
RP Will Brinson, East Carolina	So.	3-1	3.12	23	34.2	28	16	38	8
RP George Huguet, Miami (Fla.)	Fr.	1-0	2.27	41	39.2	33	13	27	13

For further information, please contact: Bo Carter, Executive Director, NCBWA (214-753-0102 or Russell Anderson, President, NCBWA (312-553-0483).

-NCBWA-