

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(Feb. 17, 2015)

John Sullivan Honored With 2014 NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – **John Sullivan**, who has been an Assistant Communications Director with Rice baseball since 2004 and worked with the sport his entire professional career, is the 40th recipient of the **Wilbur Snypp Award**, presented annually by the **National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association** for outstanding contributions to college baseball.

"The Snypp Award was an unexpected surprise," Sullivan said. "I am very thankful and honored. College baseball is this amazing combination of coaches sharing their knowledge and passion for the game, student-athletes playing with a distinctive energy and attitude, and the game itself – which can be enjoyed at any level for different reasons. I now know it's true that if you find a job you love, you'll never work a day in your life."

"Rice coach Wayne Graham is a legend, no question," he added. "He is in four different halls of fame, and if people don't know that, then he needs a better SID. How often does someone get a chance to be around someone like that? It's been great experience to get professionally, and a great experience that I've enjoyed the last 10 years."

"The work and service that the NCBWA does on behalf of college baseball is exemplary," Sullivan noted. "The organization has helped college baseball continue to grow and allows the student-athletes and coaches to have their story told and preserved."

A Houston native, Sullivan is in his 14th year at Rice and serves as the primary media contact for the Owls' baseball, soccer and swim teams. He assists the SID staff with game-day operations for the other sports teams, helps with daily updates of the Owls' athletics web site, is involved with publishing of various game-day programs and he has served as the public address announcer at a number of Rice sporting events.

Sullivan has been a dedicated member of NCBWA for over 25 years and has assisted in stats' compilation, nomination process and updating of NCBWA pre- and postseason All-America and All-District teams. He is one of the most highly-respected baseball media contacts nationally and noted for his assistance to fellow SIDs whenever possible.

"John Sullivan epitomizes the spirit and devotion of the NCBWA," NCBWA executive director **Bo Carter** said. "He is known as one of the most hard-working and effective baseball publicists nationally and has devoted countless hours to the promotion and coverage of college baseball. He is a very deserving candidate for this honor."

Sullivan joined Rice in September, 2001, after working the previous 11 years as an assistant SID at the University of Houston. A 1988 graduate of Houston, Sullivan also served as an intern in the sports information office at the University of Texas.

Sullivan joins an illustrious group of College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Famers, noted national journalists and others in receiving the award. The plaque memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962, as well as an officer in the group. The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of college baseball. Voting is conducted by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA College World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members and others.

- 1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State 1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
- 1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
- 1978 John Geis, Southern Conference 1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
- Bob Culp, Western Michigan 1980
- Lou Pavlovich, Sr., Collegiate Baseball 1981
- Tom Price, South Carolina 1982
- 1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
- 1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
- 1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
- 1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
- 1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
- 1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
- 1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
- Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville 1990
- 1991 Bill Little, University of Texas
- 1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
- Bo Carter, Southwest Conference 1993
- 1994 Lou Pavlovich, Jr., Collegiate Baseball
- 1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
- 1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
- Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell 1997
- 1998 Allan Simpson, Baseball America
- 1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M University
- 2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
- 2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
- 2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
- John Manuel, BASEBALL AMERICA 2003
- Dana Heiss Grodin, USA TODAY Sports Weekly 2004
- 2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
- 2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
- Barry Allen, Alabama 2007
- 2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
- 2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
- 2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
- 2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/D1Baseball.com
- 2012 Eric Olson, Associated Press
- 2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
- 2014 John Sullivan, Rice

-ncbwa.com-