

## NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION (Feb. 17, 2016)

Contact: Malcolm Gray (graym@ecu.edu), Bo Carter (bcarter@footballfoundation.com)

## David Feaster Honored With 2015 NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award

**GREENVILLE, N.C.** –**David Feaster**, who has been chair of the Dick Howser Trophy committee for more than 25 years, has been named as the 41<sup>st</sup> winner of the **2015 Wilbur Snypp Award**, presented annually by the **National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association** for outstanding contributions to college baseball.

Feaster, who has been indefatigable in his support and enthusiasm for college baseball since his days as an undergraduate at the University of Florida, helped originate the Dick Howser Trophy, along with the late Bill Bunker and the St. Petersburg (Florida) Area Chamber of Commerce in 1987, shortly after the passing of the popular Howser, who starred at shortstop at Florida State and managed the Kansas City Royals to the 1985 World Series title.

In 1998, he was instrumental in keeping the Dick Howser Trophy as one of the most representative selection processes in the country with the addition of the NCBWA as the voting body for the Heisman Trophy of college baseball.

With the St. Petersburg Area Chamber and the Howser Trophy committee, he has been able to secure sponsorships with USA Today, Xanthus Corp. and the Eastons Foundation to assist with logistics and presentations of the national award annually at Omaha, Nebraska, in conjunction with the NCAA Division I Baseball World Series.

Coaches, administrators and news media consider him to be of the biggest national boosters of college baseball, while he also works countless hours as president of Cornerstone Bank based in St. Petersburg.

He has worked with the Governor's Dinner to salute baseball and Major League Baseball spring training in Florida and was on the original St. Petersburg/Clearwater Sports Commission, which helped bring the Big East/Big Ten Conference Baseball Challenge to that area in 2009.

Feaster, who grew up in the St. Petersburg area and was born at Vanderbilt Medical Center near famed Charles Hawkins Field – the home of Vanderbilt Commodores baseball in Nashville, Tennessee, has devoted countless hours and travel to support the Howser Trophy and college baseball. Besides the announcement of the winner at Omaha, he has gone to the winner's campus and presented the trophy before thousands of fans at fall college football games and other gatherings. His travels in this capacity have taken him to Long Beach, California, to Clemson, South Carolina, to Waco, Texas, to Stillwater, Oklahoma, and points beyond.

"I am honored and appreciative to receive the 2015 Wilbur Snypp Award," Feaster said. "It has been a pleasure to work for many years with members of the NCBWA, and I have had the chance to meet and great some of the greatest student-athletes and players of great character in college baseball. Working with the Dick Howser Trophy committee has been a labor of love for many years."

"David Feaster is the epitome of what college baseball means to millions of people," said NCBWA executive director Bo Carter. "He has been a great partner with the NCBWA and has spent hundreds of his personal time and finances to support the great college game. He truly is a class act and has been a wonderful ambassador for baseball on all levels."

-more-

Feaster joins a sterling group of past Wilbur Snypp Award winners, national journalists and college administrators as the 2015 recipient. The plaque memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962, as well as an officer in the group. The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of college baseball. Voting is conducted by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA College World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members, and others.

## Past Wilbur Snypp Award Winners

Past Wilbur Snypp Award Winners	
1975	Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976	Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977	Phil Langan, Cornell
1978	John Geis, Southern Conference
1979	Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
1980	Bob Culp, Western Michigan
1981	Lou Pavlovich, Sr., Collegiate Baseball
1982	Tom Price, South Carolina
1983	Bob Bradley, Clemson
1984	Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
1985	Jerry Miles, NCAA
1986	Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
1987	Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
1988	Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
1989	Jim Wright, NCAA
1990	Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
1991	Bill Little, University of Texas
1992	Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
1993	Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
1994	Lou Pavlovich, Jr., Collegiate Baseball
1995	Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
1996	Gary Johnson, NCAA
1997	Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
1998	Allan Simpson, Baseball America
1999	Alan Cannon, Texas A&M University
2000	Jim Callis, Baseball America
2001	Dick Case, USA Baseball
2002	Russ Anderson, Conference USA
2003	John Manuel, BASEBALL AMERICA
2004	Dana Heiss Grodin, USA TODAY Sports Weekly
2005	Dennis Poppe, NCAA
2006	Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
2007	Barry Allen, Alabama
2008	Mike Patrick, ESPN
2009	Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
2010	Lou Spry, NCAA
2011	Jeremy Mills, ESPN/D1Baseball.com
2012	Eric Olson, Associated Press
2013	J.D. Hamilton, NCAA

- 2014 John Sullivan, Rice
- 2015 David Feaster, St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce

-ncbwa.com-