

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(April 28, 2016) ncbwa.com

Contact: John Hines (johnh@gators.ufl.edu or 352-375-4683) NCBWA First Vice-President/Associate Communications Director, University of Florida

NCBWA Announces Midseason Stopper of the Year Watch List

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (NCBWA) --- Forty players have been named to the Midseason Watch List for the 12th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, the association announced Thursday.

VCU junior **Sam Donko**, the national saves leader with 15, highlights the 2016 Midseason Watch List, while seven players have 11 saves with four weeks left in the regular season. Penn State senior **Jack Anderson** has 10 saves and a 0.65 ERA in 41.1 innings, Washington senior **Troy Rallings** has 11 saves and a 0.78 ERA in 21 appearances spanning 46 innings, while Clemson junior **Pat Krall** is 6-1 with a 0.79 ERA in 45.2 innings across 19 appearances, UCSB sophomore **Kyle Nelson** is a perfect 6-0 with a 1.07 ERA and Jacksonville State redshirt sophomore **Justin Hoyt** has 10 saves and has not yielded any earned runs in 17 appearances.

The Southeastern Conference led the way with five players on this year's Midseason Watch List, Conference USA and the Pacific-12 each had four honorees and the Atlantic Coast Conference had three. A total of 20 different conferences were represented.

The NCBWA will announce five finalists for the 2016 Stopper of the Year – the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts – on Wednesday, June 8, prior to the start of NCAA Super Regional competition. The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2016 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. The Longhorns' Corey Knebel won in 2011, with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. UCLA's Berg was crowned the winner in 2013, Louisville's Nick Burdi took home the 2014 honor and Berg became the award's first two-time winner in 2015.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

2016 NCBWA Midseason Stopper of the Year Watch List

Pitcher	School	Class	Conference
Jack Anderson	Penn State	Sr.	Big Ten
Shaun Anderson	Florida	Jr.	Southeastern
Adam Atkins	Louisiana Tech	Sr.	Conference USA
Tyler Beardsley	Sacramento State	Sr.	Western Athletic
Andrew Beckwith	Coastal Carolina	Jr.	Big South
Ben Bowden	Vanderbilt	Jr.	Southeastern
Tyler Buffett	Oklahoma State	Jr.	Big 12
Thomas Burrows	Alabama	Jr.	Southeastern
Bobby Dalbec	Arizona	Jr.	Pacific-12
Sam Donko	VCU	Jr.	Atlantic 10
Seth Elledge	Dallas Baptist	So.	Missouri Valley
Max Engelbrekt	Oregon State	RJr.	Pacific-12
Bryan Garcia	Miami (FL)	Jr.	Atlantic Coast
David Gerber	Creighton	Jr.	Big East
Matthew Gorst	Georgia Tech	Jr.	Atlantic Coast
Kade Granier	Southeastern Louisiana	So.	Southland
Thomas Hackimer	St. John's	Sr.	Big East
Justin Hoyt	Jacksonville State	R-So.	Ohio Valley
Jimmy Johnson	Lamar	Jr.	Southland
Pat Krall	Clemson	Jr.	Atlantic Coast
Max Kuhns	Santa Clara	Jr.	West Coast
Troy Montemayor	Baylor	So.	Big 12
Dylan Moore	Louisiana	So.	Sun Belt
Eddie Muhl	George Washington	Jr.	Atlantic 10
Kyle Nelson	Cal Santa Barbara	So.	Big West
Stephen Nogosek	Oregon	Jr.	Pacific-12
Conner O'Neil	CSUN	Jr.	Big West
Glenn Otto	Rice	So.	Conference USA
Cameron Ragsdale	Florida Atlantic	Jr.	Conference USA
Troy Rallings	Washington	Sr.	Pacific-12
Iannick Remillard	Canisius	Sr.	Metro Atlantic Athletic
Josh Reagan	South Carolina	Jr.	Southeastern
Chris Rivera	Long Beach State	Fr.	Big West
Nick Sandlin	Southern Miss	Fr.	Conference USA
Wil Sellers	Gardner-Webb	R-So.	Big South
Walker Sheller	Stetson	Jr.	Atlantic Sun
Wyatt Short	Ole Miss	Jr.	Southeastern
Will Stillman	Wofford	Sr.	Southern
Ryan Thomas	Marist	Jr.	Metro Atlantic Athletic
Brady Womacks	Oral Roberts	Jr.	Summit
Bryan Young	Missouri State	Jr.	Missouri Valley