

## **NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION**

(February 13, 2017) ncbwa.com

Contact: Ryan Powell (ryan.powell@athletics.und.edu or 701-777-2986) NCBWA First Vice President

## NCBWA ANNOUNCES 2017 STOPPER OF THE YEAR PRESEASON WATCH LIST

**GRAND FORKS**, N.D. (NCBWA) -- Fifty-nine players have been named to the initial Watch List for the 13th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher In NCAA Division I baseball, members of the association announced Monday.

Virginia Commonwealth's Sam Donko is the only returner among last year's five finalists for an award that was captured in 2016 by Miami's Bryan Garcia. Donko led the nation in saves a season ago with 20, while compiling a 9-2 record to go with a 2.93 ERA and 54 strikeouts for the Rams.

The Pacific-12 Conference had the most representation with nine players finding their names on the watch list. That group is headlined by Oregon State's Max Engelbrekt, who went 3-3 with 11 saves for the Beavers a season ago. His 11 saves top the list of returning relievers in the conference.

More than a third of the players on this list recorded double-digit saves a season ago and 10 were named to the NCBWA Preseason All-American team. Two of those preseason All-Americans posted sub-1.00 ERA's a season ago as Baylor's Troy Montemayor (0.78) and Louisiana's Dylan Moore (0.91) both notched 14 saves for their respective teams.

In total, 23 conferences are represented on this list with the Southeastern Conference following the Pac-12 with seven representatives. Conference USA and the Big West each had four players on this list.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. The Longhorns' Corey Knebel won in 2011, with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. UCLA's David Berg was crowned the winner in 2013, Louisville's Nick Burdi took home the 2014 honor and Berg became the award's first two-time winner in 2015. Miami (Fla.)'s Bryan Garcia was honored as the 2016 recipient.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I, II and III Players of the Week and Division I, II and III Players of the Year.

2017 NCBWA STOPPER OF THE YEAR PRESEASON WATCH LIST					
Frankie Bartow	Miami (Fla.)	So.	Atlantic Coast		
Robert Broom	Mercer	So.	Southern		
Wyatt Burns	Samford	So.	Southern		
Mike Cassala	Jacksonville	So.	Atlantic Sun		
Michael Catlin	Longwood	Jr.	Big South		
Yaya Chentouf	Pittsburgh	So.	Atlantic Coast		

Zach Cook	Winthrop	R-Jr.	Big South
Sam Donko	VCU	Sr.	Atlantic 10
Dylan Drachler	Utah	Sr.	Pacific-12
Seth Elledge	Dallas Baptist	Jr.	Missouri Valley
Max Engelbrekt	Oregon State	Sr.	Pacific-12
Eder Erives	Arizona State	Sr.	Pacific-12
Michael Evans	James Madison	Sr.	Colonial Athletic
Durbin Feltman	TCU	So.	Big 12
David Gerber	Creighton	Sr.	Big East
Devin Gould	Longwood	Sr.	Big South
Kade Gramier	SE Louisiana	Jr.	Southland
Chase Haney	Florida State	So.	Atlantic Coast
Colton Hock	Stanford	Jr.	Pacific-12
Bobby Holmes	Coastal Carolina	Jr.	Sun Belt
Justin Hoyt	Jacksonville State	Jr.	Ohio Valley
Joe Ingle	East Carolina	Jr.	The American
Tyler Johnson	South Carolina	Jr.	Southeastern
Seth Kinker	Ohio State	Jr.	Big Ten
Jack Landwehr	Illinois State	Sr.	Missouri Valley
Carter Love	College of Charleston	Jr.	Colonial Athletic
Chad Luensmann	Nebraska	So.	Big Ten
Erik Martinez	California	Jr.	Pacific-12
Evan McMahan	Nevada	Sr.	Mountain West
Greg Minier	Washington	Sr.	Pacific-12
Troy Montemayor	Baylor	Jr.	Big 12
Dylan Moore	Louisiana	Jr.	Sun Belt
Samuel Myers	Cal State Northridge	Sr.	Big West
Kyle Nelson	UC Santa Barbara	Jr.	Big West
Hunter Newman	LSU	Sr.	Southeastern
Connor O'Neil	Cal State Northridge	Sr.	Big West
Glenn Otto	Rice	Jr.	Conference USA
Patrick Peterson	Dartmouth	Jr.	Ivy League
Cameron Ragsdale	Florida Atlantic	Sr.	Conference USA
Josh Reagan	South Carolina	Sr.	Southeastern
Rickey Ramirez	Fresno State	Jr.	Mountain West
Ryan Rigby	Mississippi State	Jr.	Southeastern
Chris Rivera	Long Beach State	So.	Big West
Jake Roehn	Ohio	Jr.	Mid-American
Mike Ruppenthal	Vanderbilt	Jr.	Southeastern
Nick Sandlin	Southern Miss	So.	Conference USA

Blake Smith	Mississippi State	Sr.	Southeastern
Jackson Sowell	WKU	Sr.	Conference USA
Erich Stahl	Kennesaw State	Sr.	Atlantic Sun
Tyler Starks	Stephen F. Austin	So.	Southland
Wil Stokes	Ole Miss	Jr.	Southeastern
Stephen Villines	Kansas	Sr.	Big 12
Ryan Walker	Washington State	Jr.	Pacific-12
Andrew Wantz	UNCG	Jr.	Southern
Brac Warren	Oregon	Jr.	Pacific-12
Brad Wegman	USC	Jr.	Pacific-12
Zach Wolf	Seattle	So.	Western Athletic
Brad Womacks	Oral Roberts	Sr.	Summit League
Bryan Young	Missouri State	Sr.	Missouri Valley

--NCBWA.com--