

Contact: Malcolm Gray (graym@ecu.edu or 252-737-4523) NCBWA Assistant Executive Director

NCBWA ANNOUNCES 2019 STOPPER OF THE YEAR MIDSEASON UPDATE

GREEENVILLE, N.C. (NCBWA) – As the calendar gets ready to turn to May for the 2019 collegiate baseball season, 45 of the sports top relief pitchers have been named to the Midseason Update for the 15th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, members of the association announced Wednesday.

Five of the 45 players were on the preseason watch list released in February, including Stanford's Jake Little, who is the only returner among last year's five finalists for an award given annually to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball. After registering 16 saves as a freshman in 2018, Little has eight on the year in 15 appearances.

Among the newcomers to the watch list are the nation's top three saves leaders. UT Arlington's Andrew Gross has a NCAAbest 16 saves as senior, while Illinois' Garrett Action (13) and Harvard's Kieran Shaw (12) round out the Top 3. Twelve players on the list have already registered double-digit saves, according to the latest NCAA stats.

There are 23 conferences represented on the list with the Southeastern Conference leading the way with seven relief pitchers. The Big Ten, Mountain West Conference and Pac-12 each have three on the list, while 30 of the 45 on the watch list are upperclassmen.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. The Longhorns' Corey Knebel won in 2011, with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. UCLA's David Berg was crowned the winner in 2013, Louisville's Nick Burdi took home the 2014 honor and Berg became the award's first two-time winner in 2015. Miami (Fla.)'s Bryan Garcia was honored as the 2016 recipient followed by Louisville's Lincoln Henzman in 2017 and Florida's Michael Byrne last year.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I, II and III Players of the Week and Division I, II and III Players of the Year.

Player	Year	Team (Conference)
Garrett Action	Jr.	Illinois (Big Ten)
Jaime Arias	So.	Fresno State (MWC)
Evan Brabrand	Sr.	Liberty (A-Sun)
Trey Braithwaite	So.	Navy (Patriot)
Tyler Brown	So.	Vanderbilt (SEC)
Parker Caracci	R-Jr.	Ole Miss (SEC)
Jackson Cofer	Sr.	UNLV (MWC)
Matt Cronin	Jr.	Arkansas (SEC)
Fineas Del Bonta-Smith	Sr.	San Jose State (MWC)

J.C. Flowers Jacob Gilmore	Jr. So.	Florida State (ACC)
Cole Gordon	Su. Sr.	Illinois State (MVC) Mississippi State (SEC)
Nick Grabek	So.	Fairfield (MAAC)
Zack Greene	S0. Sr.	South Alabama (Sun Belt)
Cody Greenhill	So.	Auburn (SEC)
Andrew Gross	Sr.	UT Arlington (Sun Belt)
Connor Hinchiffe	Sr.	La Salle (Atlantic 10)
Alek Jacob	So.	Gonzaga (WCC)
Stephen Jones	Sr.	Samford (SoCon)
Kasey Kalich	So.	Texas A&M (SEC)
Connor Knutson	Jr.	Portland (WCC)
Jack Little	So.	Stanford (Pac-12)
Grant Leonard	Jr.	lowa (Big Ten)
Brandon Lewis	Sr.	Abilene Christian (Southland)
Chris Lincoln	Jr.	UC Santa Barbara (Big West)
Reeves Martin	Jr.	New Orleans (Southland)
Jeremiah McCollum	So.	Florida A&M (MEAC)
Hunter McGarry	Jr.	FGCU (A-Sun)
Jack Mulholland	Jr.	Oregon State (Pac-12)
Nathan Ocker	Sr.	Charleston (CAA)
Holden Powell	So.	UCLA (Pac-12)
Taylor Rashi	Sr.	UC Irvine (Big West)
Jason Ruffcorn	Jr.	Oklahoma (Big 12)
Kieran Shaw	Jr.	Harvard (Ivy League)
Zach Schneider	Sr.	FAU (C-USA)
Aaron Schunk	Jr.	Georgia (SEC)
Braxton Smith	Sr.	Louisiana Tech (C-USA)
Carson Spiers	Jr.	Clemson (ACC)
Chad Sykes	Sr.	UNC Greensboro (SoCon)
Jonah Ulane	So.	Kansas (Big 12)
Fred Villarreal	Jr.	Houston (American)
Jacob Wallace	Jr.	UConn (American)
Willie Weiss	Fr.	Michigan (Big Ten)
Connor Whalen	Sr.	Southern (SWAC)
Chris Wright	Jr.	Bryant (NEC)

--NCBWA.com--