

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(April 28, 2021) ncbwa.com

Contact: Malcolm Gray (graym@ecu.edu or 252-737-4523)

NCBWA Assistant Executive Director

NCBWA ANNOUNCES 2021 STOPPER OF THE YEAR MIDSEASON WATCH LIST

GREENVILLE, N.C. (NCBWA) – As the calendar gets ready to turn to May for the 2021 collegiate baseball season, 65 of the sports top relief pitchers have been named to the Midseason Watch List for the 16th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, members of the association announced Wednesday.

With so many collegiate players returning, after the 2020 season was cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the association has never seen this many talented arms on a single list. Eleven of the 65 players were on the preseason watch list, released in February, including Luke Boyd (Baylor/8saves), Taylor Broadway (Ole Miss/8), Geoffrey Gilbert (Clemson/3), Haylen Green (TCU/8), Chase Lee (Alabama/4), C.J. Mayhue (East Carolina/6), Scott Meylan (N.C. Central/7), Carson Palmquist (Miami, Fla./9), Frankie Scalzo (Grand Canyon/7), Stephen Schoch (Virginia/7) and Joe Taylor (Nicholls/7).

Among the newcomers to the watch list are the nation's top three save leaders in CJ Culpepper (California Baptist/WAC), Zach Grech (Stanford/Pac-12) and Nick Jones (Georgia Southern/Sun Belt) each with 11 saves heading into this week's action. Culpepper has made 14 appearances, posting a 1-1 record in 19 1/3 innings, while Grech owns a 4-3 ledger with a 2.64 ERA in 19 outings. Jones, who sports the second-lowest ERA among the watch list members at 0.63 over 28 2/3 frames, is 1-0 in 19 appearances.

Oregon State's Jake Mulholland, a three-time midseason selection, sports a 2-1 record with nine saves and an impressive 0.86 ERA in 18 appearances. Other pitchers with less than a 1.00 ERA on the list are Arkansas' Kevin Kopps (0.97 ERA/5 saves), Mississippi State's Landon Sims (0.67/5), Nicholls' Taylor (0.81), North Florida's Stephen Halstead (0.96/1), USC Upstate's Kevin Davis (0.50/5) and Vanderbilt's Nick Maldonado (0.77/3).

There are 25 conferences represented on the list with the Southeastern Conference leading the way with eight relief pitchers. The Atlantic Coast Conference stands second with seven followed by the Southland and Big 12 with five each, while the Ohio Valley and Pac-12 each have four. In all, 15 of the 25 conferences have multiple

selections and 25 of the 65 on the watch list are upperclassmen.

The NCBWA will announce the finalists on Wednesday, June 9 with the winner being named on Saturday, June 19 at the 2021 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. The Longhorns' Corey Knebel won in 2011, with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. UCLA's David Berg was crowned the winner in 2013, Louisville's Nick Burdi took home the 2014 honor, and Berg became the award's first two-time winner in 2015. Miami (Fla.)'s Bryan Garcia was honored as the 2016 recipient followed the Cardinal's Lincoln Henzman in 2017, Florida's Michael Byrne in 2018 and UCLA's Holden Powell in 2019.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player and the Mike Martin National Coach of the Year to the nation's top coach. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I, II and III Players of the Week and Division I, II and III Players of the Year.

-- NCBWA.com --

65 Names For Midseason Stopper of the Year Watch List (as of April 25, 2021 games)

Player	Yr	Team (Conference)	APP	IP	ERA	W/L	SVs
Eric Adler	Fr.	Wake Forest (ACC)	13	13.1	2.03	1-1	5
Aaron Barkley	Gr.	Little Rock (Sun Belt)	17	44.1	2.03	5-2	6
Carter Benbrook	Fr.	UC Santa Barbara (Big West)	15	30.2	2.93	3-1	2
AJ Blubaugh	Fr.	Milwaukee (Horizon)	12	16.1	1.65	1-1	6
Matthew Bollenbacher	So.	East Tenn. State (SoCon)	9	19.1	1.86	1-0	4
Luke Boyd	Sr.	Baylor (Big 12)	18	20.0	1.35	0-2	8
Will Brian	So.	Eastern Kentucky (OVC)	17	22.0	3.27	2-1	6
Taylor Broadway	Sr.	Ole Miss (SEC)	16	26.2	3.04	4-1	8
TJ Brock	Jr.	Ohio State (Big Ten)	12	15.0	2.40	0-1	7
Tyler Cleveland	Fr.	Central Arkansas (Southland)	16	50.0	2.16	5-3	6
Gary Clift	Sr.	Youngstown St. (Horizon)	13	13.2	1.98	2-2	6
Brendan Coffey	Sr.	Sacred Heart (NEC)	10	16.2	1.00	0-1	6
Kaleb Corbett	Fr.	Louisville (ACC)	11	17.1	1.04	1-1	4
CJ Culpepper	So.	California Baptist (WAC)	14	19.1	3.26	1-1	11
Jack Dallas	Jr.	Lamar University (Southland)	12	18.0	1.00	0-1	8
Kevin Davis	Jr.	USC Upstate (Big South)	12	18.0	0.50	1-1	5
Nolan DeVos	So.	Davidson (Atlantic 10)	16	23.1	1.54	3-0	7
Danny Garcia	So.	Stetson (ASUN)	16	23.1	3.09	2-1	7
Geoffrey Gilbert	Fr.	Clemson (ACC)	20	31.2	1.71	2-4	3
Zach Grech	Sr.	Stanford (Pac-12)	19	30.2	2.64	4-3	11
Haylen Green	Sr.	TCU (Big 12)	18	38.2	2.09	1-1	8
Lliam Grubbs	So.	James Madison (CAA)	9	13.1	1.35	0-0	4
Aaron Haase	Jr.	Wichita State (AAC)	13	17.1	1.56	0-1	7
Stephen Halstead	Jr.	North Florida (ASUN)	15	18.2	0.96	0-0	1
Devereaux Harrison	Fr.	Long Beach State (Big West)	11	18.2	1.83	1-1	8
Logan Heintzman	Sr.	Campbell (Big South)	10	29.0	2.48	4-0	0
Connor Holden	Jr.	Murray St. (OVC)	11	14.2	2.45	0-1	6
Sean Hunley	Sr.	Tennessee (SEC)	21	42.1	2.98	7-2	4
David Hussey	Sr.	UT Martin (OVC)	15	24.0	1.12	2-0	3
Chase Isbell	So.	Samford (SoCon)	19	22.1	2.01	2-1	6
Nick Jones	Jr.	Georgia Southern (Sun Belt)	19	28.2	0.63	1-0	11
Chandler Jozwiak	Sr.	Texas A&M (SEC)	20	44.0	2.86	1-3	6
Tanner Kohlhepp	So.	Notre Dame (ACC)	15	36.0	2.75	5-1	2
Kevin Kopps	Sr.	Arkansas (SÈC)	18	37.0	0.97	6-0	5
Chase Lee	Jr.	Alabama (SEC)	14	25.0	1.44	6-0	4
Lance Lusk	Jr.	Sam Houston (Southland)	15	29.1	3.91	1-1	6
C.J. Mayhue	Fr.	East Carolina (AAC)	19	31.0	3.48	2-1	6
Jordan McCrum	Sr.	Pittsburgh (ACC)	16	23.0	1.96	2-1	4
Trey McDaniel	Jr.	Southern Illinois (MVC)	18	27.2	3.93	2-3	6
Scott Meylan	Jr.	N.C. Central (MEAC)	16	23.2	3.04	0-0	7
Nick Maldonado	So.	Vanderbilt (SEC)	14	23.1	0.77	1-1	3
Eli Morse	Jr.	Portland (WCC)	16	24.0	2.63	1-0	8
Jake Mulholland	Sr.	Oregon State (Pac-12)	18	21.0	0.86	2-1	9

Luke Murphy	Jr.	Vanderbilt (SEC)	13	15.0	3.60	1-1	7
Wyatt Nelson	Fr.	North Dakota St. (Summit)	13	20.0	1.35	0-1	7
Carson Palmquist	Fr.	Miami, Fla. (ACC)	15	28.1	1.27	1-0	9
Garrett Ramsey	So.	Southern Miss (C-USA)	12	10.2	1.69	0-1	9
Jake Rappaport	Sr.	NJIT (America East)	14	25.1	2.13	3-0	7
Dalton Rhadans	Jr.	Wofford (SoCon)	14	40.0	2.25	4-0	5
Frankie Scalzo	Sr.	Grand Canyon (WAC)	16	19.1	2.33	1-1	7
Stephen Schoch	Sr.	Virginia (ACC)	14	23.2	1.90	1-0	7
Caleb Seroski	So.	New Orleans (Southland)	15	30.2	2.93	4-1	7
Kieran Shaw	Sr.	San Diego (WCC)	16	27.2	2.93	1-0	7
Landon Sims	Fr.	Mississippi State (SEC)	12	27.0	0.67	2-0	5
Paul Skenes	Fr.	Air Force (Mountain West)	11	16.0	1.69	1-0	7
Kolby Somers	Jr.	Oregon (Pac-12)	11	11.2	1.54	1-0	7
Ryan Sublette	Jr.	Texas Tech (Big 12)	12	26.0	3.12	5-1	1
Brandon Talley	Jr.	Louisiana (Sun Belt)	20	25.2	1.75	0-1	6
Joe Taylor	Jr.	Nicholls (Southland)	19	22.1	0.81	1-3	7
Jonah Úlane	Jr.	Kansas (Big 12)	13	16.1	2.20	2-0	6
Vince Vannelle	Sr.	Arizona (Pac-12)	16	22.0	2.05	3-2	6
Jacob Watters	So.	West Virginia (Big 12)	11	14.2	1.23	3-0	2
Danny Wilkinson	So.	Villanova (Big East)	12	17.1	2.60	0-1	6
AJ Wood	Sr.	Tarleton St. (WAC)	16	21.1	2.11	2-1	9
Corley Woods	Sr.	Jacksonville State (OVC)	17	28.1	2.22	0-2	6
•		` '					