

Standouts chosen from nine regions

March 11, 2008 For Immediate Release Contact: Joe Mitch 314-421-0339

USBWA NAMES 2007-08 MEN'S ALL-DISTRICT TEAMS

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) - The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has released its 2007-08 Men's All-District Teams, based on voting from its national membership. There are nine regions from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each. Following is the entire region-by-region listing:

DISTRICT I

ME, VT, NH, RI, MA, PA, WV, CT

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

A.J. Price, Connecticut

COACH OF THE YEAR

Jim Calhoun, Connecticut

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Jeff Adrien, Connecticut Joe Alexander, West Virginia Marqus Blakely, Vermont Pat Calathes, St. Joseph's Dionte Christmas, Temple Will Daniels, Rhode Island Gary Forbes, Massachusetts A.J. Price, Connecticut Scottie Reynolds, Villanova Tyrese Rice, Boston College Sam Young, Pittsburgh

DISTRICT IV

KY, TN MS, AL, GA, FL

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Chris Douglas-Roberts, Memphis

COACH OF THE YEAR

Bruce Pearl, Tennessee

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Ramel Bradley, Kentucky Chris Douglas-Roberts, Memphis Shan Foster, Vanderbilt Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State Richard Hendrix, Alabama Chris Lofton, Tennessee David Padgett, Louisville Derrick Rose, Memphis Tyler Smith, Tennessee Robert Vaden, UAB

DISTRICT VII

TX, AR, LA

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

D.J. Augustin, Texas

COACH OF THE YEAR

Scott Drew, Baylor

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

A I Abrams Texas D.J. Augustin, Texas Stefon Jackson, UTEP Damion James, Texas Curtis Jerrells, Baylor Bo McCalebb, New Orleans Robert McKiver, Houston Marcus Thornton, LSU Alan Voskuil, Texas Tech Sonny Weems, Arkansas

DISTRICT II

NY, NJ, DE, DC

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jason Thompson, Rider

COACH OF THE YEAR

Steve Donahue, Cornell

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Antoine Agudio, Hofstra Bryant Dunston, Fordham Charron Fisher, Niagara Jonny Flynn, Syracuse Donte Greene, Syracuse Roy Hibbert, Georgetown Brian Laing, Seton Hall Jason Thompson, Rider Edwin Ubiles, Siena Ryan Wittman, Cornell

DISTRICT V

OH, IN, IL, MI, MN, WI

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Luke Harangody, Notre Dame COACH OF THE YEAR

Matt Painter, Purdue

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Brian Butch, Wisconsin James Butler, Ohio State Eric Gordon, Indiana Mike Green, Butler Luke Harangody, Notre Dame Robbie Hummel, Purdue Dominic James, Marquette Raymar Morgan, Michigan State Drew Neitzel, Michigan State D.J. White, Indiana

DISTRICT VIII

WY, UT, ID, NM, CO, NV, MT

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

J.R. Giddens, New Mexico COACH OF THE YEAR

Lon Kruger, UNLV

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Wink Adams UNIV Jaycee Carroll, Utah State Lee Cummard, BYU Brandon Ewing, Wyoming J.R. Giddens . New Mexico Justin Hawkins, New Mexico State Marcelus Kemp, Nevada Reggie Larry, Boise State Trent Plaisted, BYU Carlos Taylor, Montana State

DISTRICT III

VA, NC, SC, MD

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina

COACH OF THE YEAR

Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Stephen Curry, Davidson Wayne Ellington, North Carolina James Gist, Maryland Cliff Hammonds, Clemson Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina Kyle Hines, UNC Greensboro DeMarcus Nelson, Duke Sean Singletary, Virginia Kyle Singler, Duke Greivis Vasquez, Maryland

DISTRICT VI

IA, MO, KS, OK, NE, ND, SD

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Michael Beasley, Kansas State

COACH OF THE YEAR

Keno Davis, Drake

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Darrell Arthur, Kansas Michael Beasley, Kansas State Mario Chalmers, Kansas Adam Emmenecker, Drake Blake Griffin, Oklahoma Darnell Jackson, Kansas Aleks Maric, Nebraska Brandon Rush, Kansas Bill Walker, Kansas State Josh Young, Drake

DISTRICT IX

CA, OR, WA, HI, AZ, AK

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Kevin Love, UCLA

COACH OF THE YEAR

Herb Sendek, Arizona State

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Ryan Anderson, California Jerryd Bayless, Arizona Jon Brockman, Washington Darren Collison, UCLA James Harden, Arizona State Maarty Leunen, Oregon Brook Lopez, Stanford Kevin Love, UCLA O.J. Mayo, USC Kyle Weaver, Washington State

A tie in the voting necessitated 11 players being chosen for the All-District I team

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its All-District teams, contact executive director Joe Mitch and 314-421-0339.