ENJOY HOTEL BOOKING DISCOUNTS THRU THE USBWA | READ THE MARCH EDITION OF THE TIPOFF

NEWS • AWARDS

DIRECTORY • TIPOFF • JOIN US

ABOUT US • FAQ • HOME





Association selects 55th annual team

March 14, 2011 For Immediate Release Contact: Joe Mitch 314-444-4325

🖸 SHARE 🔡 🖓 🦉 🔤

USBWA NAMES 2010-11 ALL-AMERICANS

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – Ten standout players representing seven conferences have been selected to the 2010-11 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team. A trio of seniors – BYU guard Jimmer Fredette, Purdue forward/center JaJuan Johnson and Duke guard Nolan Smith – headline the first-team selections. Joining those three are Connecticut junior guard Kemba Walker and Ohio State freshman forward Jared Sullinger.

The second team consists of Morehead State forward/center **Kenneth Faried**, Texas guard/forward **Jordan Hamilton**, Notre Dame guard **Ben Hansbrough**, Kansas forward **Marcus Morris** and Arizona forward **Derrick Williams**.

The Big East, Big Ten and Big 12 each boast a pair of All-Americans and, although Duke, Kansas, Notre Dame and Ohio State have players on the team for a second consecutive season, each of the ten players honored this season by the USBWA is a All-America selection for the first time. Other conferences represented on the All-America team are the ACC, Mountain West, Ohio Valley and Pac-10. Hansbrough is the brother of three-time USBWA All-American and 2008 Oscar Robertson Trophy winner Tyler Hansbrough.

Each of the first-team selections is among the **Oscar Robertson Trophy** finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced Monday, March 28 and presented on Friday, April 1 at the 2011 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

On Tuesday, the USBWA will announce the winner of the **Wayman Tisdale Award** to be presented to the national freshman of the year. Next Monday, March 21, the association will announce the winner of its **Henry Iba Award** to be presented to the national coach of the year.

Following is the complete 2010-11 USBWA All-America team:

2010-11 USBWA MEN'S ALL-AMERICA TEAM

First Team	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	CI.	Hometown
Jimmer Fredette, BYU	G	6-2	195	Sr.	Glens Falls, N.Y.
JaJuan Johnson, Purdue	F/C	6-10	221	Sr.	Indianapolis, Ind.
Nolan Smith, Duke	G	6-2	185	Sr.	Upper Marlboro, Md.
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State	F	6-9	280	Fr.	Columbus, Ohio
Kemba Walker, Connecticut	G	6-1	172	Jr.	Bronx, N.Y.
Second Team	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	CI.	Hometown
Kenneth Faried, Morehead State	F/C	6-8	228	Sr.	Newark, N.J.
Jordan Hamilton, Texas	G/F	6-7	220	So.	Compton, Calif.
Ben Hansbrough, Notre Dame	G	6-3	203	Sr.	Poplar Bluff, Mo.
	0	0.0	200	51.	ropiar biurr, ivio.
Marcus Morris, Kansas	F	6-9	235	Jr.	Philadelphia, Pa.

The **U.S. Basketball Writers Association** was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its All-America team, contact executive director **Joe Mitch** at 314-444-4325.

Related links:

• 2010-11 USBWA All-District teams

All-time USBWA All-America teams