



Association selects 56th annual team



USBWA NAMES 2011-12 ALL-AMERICANS

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – Ten standout players representing seven conferences have been selected to the **2011-12 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team**. The first team consists of five forwards, as the USBWA selects the nation's top five players regardless of position. Ohio State sophomore **Jared Sullinger**, last season's winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award as the National Freshman of the Year, is the lone repeat selection.

Sullinger, who averaged 17.6 points and 9.3 rebounds per game, is joined by freshman phenom **Anthony Davis** of Kentucky, was has led the Wildcats to the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament with 14.3 points, 10.0 rebounds and 4.6 blocks per game. Michigan State senior **Draymond Green** (16.1 ppg, 10.4 rpg) sparked the Spartans to the Big Ten tournament title and a No. 1 seed, while Creighton's sharp-shooting sophomore **Doug McDermott** (23.2 ppg, 8.2 rpg, 61.0 field goal percentage, 49.5 3-point field goal percentage) and Kansas' junior upstart **Thomas Robinson** (17.9 ppg, 11.8 rpg) have also earned first-team honors.

The second team consists of Murray State junior guard **Isaiah Canaan** (19.2 ppg, 3.7 apg), Missouri senior guard **Marcus Denmon** (17.6 ppg, 5.1 rpg), West Virginia senior forward **Kevin Jones** (20.1 ppg, 11.1 rpg), Kentucky freshman forward **Michael Kidd-Gilchrist** (11.8 ppg, 7.6 rpg), and North Carolina senior forward **Tyler Zeller** (16.5 ppg, 9.3 rpg).

The Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC each boast a pair of All-Americans. Other conferences represented on the All-America team are the ACC, Big East, Missouri Valley and Ohio Valley.

Each of the first-team selections is among the **Oscar Robertson Trophy** finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award, as well as the **Henry Iba Award**, presented to the National Coach of the Year, will be announced next Monday, March 19. Both prestigious awards will be formally presented on Friday, March 30, at the 2012 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the New Orleans Marriott in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four.

On Tuesday, the USBWA will announce the winner of the **Wayman Tisdale Award** to be presented to the national freshman of the year. Both Davis and Kidd-Gilchrist are among the finalists for the honor.

Following is the complete 2011-12 USBWA All-America team:

2011-12 USBWA MEN'S ALL-AMERICA TEAM

First Team	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	CI.	Hometown	
Anthony Davis, Kentucky	F	6-10	220	Fr.	Chicago, Ill.	
4th Kentucky All-American since 2008-09 (19th Kentucky player selected as an All-American)						
Draymond Green, Michigan State	F	6-7	230	Sr.	Saginaw, Mich.	
First Michigan State All-American since 2000-01 (Jason Richardson, 2nd team) and 8th overall						
Doug McDermott, Creighton	F	6-7	220	So.	Ames, Iowa	
First first-team All-American from Creighton (Kyle Korver earned 2nd team in 2002-03)						
Thomas Robinson, Kansas	F	6-10	237	Jr.	Washington, D.C.	
7th Kansas All-American since 2001-02 (14th K	ansas p	layer se	lected a	as an	All-American)	
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State	F	6-9	280	So.	Columbus, Ohio	
4th Ohio State player to earn back-to-back hor	4th Ohio State player to earn back-to-back honors (Jerry Lucas, Jimmy Jackson, Scoonie Penn)					
Second Team	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	CI.	Hometown	
Second Team Isaiah Canaan, Murray State	Pos. G	Ht. 6-0	Wt. 193	Cl. Jr.	Hometown Biloxi, Miss.	
	G	6-0	193	Jr.	Biloxi, Miss.	
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State	G	6-0	193	Jr.	Biloxi, Miss.	
Isaiah Canaan , Murray State First All-America selection from Murray State (2)	G 2nd strai G	6-0 ght fron 6-3	193 n Ohio 185	Jr. Valley Sr.	Biloxi, Miss. Conference)	
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State First All-America selection from Murray State (2 Marcus Denmon, Missouri	G 2nd strai G	6-0 ght fron 6-3	193 n Ohio 185	Jr. Valley Sr.	Biloxi, Miss. Conference)	
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State First All-America selection from Murray State (2 Marcus Denmon, Missouri Fifth Missouri selection and first since 1993-94	G 2nd strai G (Melvin F	6-0 ight from 6-3 Booker, 6-8	193 n Ohio 185 2nd To 260	Jr. Valley Sr. eam) Sr.	Biloxi, Miss. Conference) Kansas City, Mo. Mount Vernon, N.Y.	
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State First All-America selection from Murray State (2 Marcus Denmon, Missouri Fifth Missouri selection and first since 1993-94 Kevin Jones, West Virginia	G 2nd strai G (Melvin F	6-0 ight from 6-3 Booker, 6-8	193 n Ohio 185 2nd To 260	Jr. Valley Sr. eam) Sr. 63 (Ro	Biloxi, Miss. Conference) Kansas City, Mo. Mount Vernon, N.Y.	
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State First All-America selection from Murray State (2 Marcus Denmon, Missouri Fifth Missouri selection and first since 1993-94 Kevin Jones, West Virginia Fourth player and fifth selection from West Virginia	G 2nd strai G (Melvin F ginia; fir	6-0 ight from 6-3 Booker, 6-8 st since 6-7	193 n Ohio 185 2nd To 260 1962-6	Jr. Valley Sr. eam) Sr. 63 (Ro	Biloxi, Miss. Conference) Kansas City, Mo. Mount Vernon, N.Y. d Thorn) Somerdale, N.J.	
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State First All-America selection from Murray State (2 Marcus Denmon, Missouri Fifth Missouri selection and first since 1993-94 Kevin Jones, West Virginia Fourth player and fifth selection from West Virginia Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky	G 2nd strai G (Melvin F ginia; fir	6-0 ight from 6-3 Booker, 6-8 st since 6-7	193 n Ohio 185 2nd To 260 1962-6	Jr. Valley Sr. eam) Sr. 63 (Ro	Biloxi, Miss. Conference) Kansas City, Mo. Mount Vernon, N.Y. d Thorn) Somerdale, N.J.	

The **U.S. Basketball Writers Association** was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its All-America team, contact executive director **Joe Mitch** at 314-444-4325.