June 14, 2017
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
.pdf version
75 standout players honored by association
Bookmark and Share

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. (NCBWA) – After two rounds of voting by the organization, 75 baseball student-athletes comprise the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association's 21st Annual All-America first, second and third teams, as announced on Wednesday.

Nineteen different conferences are represented and 11 conference championships teams. The three All-America squads are also made up of 14 conference players of the year, 10 conference pitchers of the year winners and 10 first-round draft picks in the recent Major League Baseball Amateur Draft.

Members of this year's team lead or are tied for the lead nationally in 18 different categories, including batting average (Greg Cullen, Niagara, .458), hits (Devlin Granberg, Dallas Baptist, 112), hits per game (Ryan Ward, Bryant, 1.80), runs (Matt Sanders, Troy, 90), runs per game (Sanders, 1.43), home runs (Spender Torkelson 25), home runs per game (Bren Spillane, Illinois, 0.46), on-base percentage (Cullen, .556), RBI (Chase Chambers, Tennessee Tech, 84), slugging percentage (Spillane, .903), total bases (Kevin Strohschein, Tennessee Tech, 184), hits allowed per nine innings (John Rooney, Hofstra, 4.83), strikeouts (Logan Gilbert, Stetson, 163), strikeout to walk ratio (Clayton Andrews, Long Beach State, 35.8), victories (Luke Heimlich, Oregon State, 16), ERA (Nick Sandlin, Southern Miss, 1.06), saves (Chris Mauloni, Jacksonville; Brooks Wilson, Stetson, 20) and WHIP (Sandlin, 0.71).

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2017 have featured the likes of P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern, 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, C Buster Posey of Florida State, 3B Anthony Rendon of Rice, C Mike Zunino of Florida, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, OF Seth Beer of Clemson and UTL Brendan McKay from Louisville among others.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C  Joey Bart Georgia Tech 6-3 225 Jr. Buford, Ga.
1B Bren Spillane Illinois 6-5 210 Jr. Wheeling, Ill.
1B Andrew Vaughn California 6-1 214 So. Santa Rosa, Calif.
2B Kody Clemens Texas 6-2 185 Jr. Houston, Texas
3B Jonathan India Florida 6-0 200 Jr. Coral Springs, Fla.
SS Terrin Vavra Minnesota 6-0 190 Jr. Menomonie, Wis.
OF Devlin Granberg Dallas Baptist 6-2 224 Sr. Hudson, Colo.
OF Seth Beer Clemson 6-3 195 Jr. Suwanee, Ga.
OF Trevor Larnach Oregon State 6-4 210 Jr. Pleasant Hill, Calif.
OF Bryant Packard East Carolina 6-3 210 So. Greenville, N.C.
DH Kevin Strohschein Tennessee Tech 6-0 205 Jr. McDonough, Ga.
UT Brooks Wilson Stetson 6-3 209 Sr. Lakeland, Fla.
SP Logan Gilbert Stetson 6-6 225 Jr. Apopka, Fla.
SP Luke Heimlich Oregon State 6-1 197 Sr. Puyallup, Wash.
SP Casey Mize Auburn 6-3 220 Jr. Springville, Ala.
SP Nick Sandlin Southern Miss 5-11 170 Jr. Evans, Ga.
SP Brady Singer Florida 6-5 210 Jr. Eustis, Fla.
SP Andre Pallante UC Irvine 6-3 203 So. San Clemente, Calif.
SP Blaine Knight Arkansas 6-3 170 Jr. Bryant, Ark.
RP Michael Byrne Florida 6-3 210 Jr. Orlando, Fla.
RP Nolan Hoffman Texas A&M 6-4 190 Jr. Lincoln, Neb.
RP Seth Kinker Ohio State 6-1 205 Sr. Huntington, W. Va.
RP Jack Little Stanford 6-4 190 So. Las Vegas, Nev.
RP Chris Mauloni Jacksonville 6-2 205 Fr. Jacksonville, Fla.
Second Team: C Alex Holderbach, Eastern Kentucky, Jr.; 1B Chase Chambers, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; 2B Nick Madrigal, Oregon State, Jr.; 3B Luke Reynolds, Southern Miss, Jr.; 3B Josh Jung, Texas Tech, So.; SS Greg Cullen, Niagara, Jr.; OF Matt Wallner, Southern Miss, So.; OF Grant Little, Texas Tech, So.; OF Steele Walker, Oklahoma, Jr.; OF Justin Dirden, Southeast Missouri State, Jr.; DH Drew Millas, Missouri State, So.; UT Clayton Andrews, Long Beach State, Jr.; SP Kyle Brnovich, Elon, So.; SP Colton Eastman, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.; SP Joey Murray, Kent State, Jr.; SP Ryan Tapani, Creighton, Sr.; SP Travis Moths, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; SP Sean Mooney, St. John’s, So.; SP Adam Wolfe, Louisville, Jr.; RP Robert Broom, Mercer, Jr.; RP Zach Schneider, Florida Atlantic, Jr.; RP Ryley Gilliam, Clemson, Jr.; RP Ethan DeCaster, Duke, Fr.; RP Jake Hohensee, Nebraska, Sr.
Third Team: C Adley Rutschman, Oregon State, So.; C JJ Schwarz, Florida, Sr.; 1B Spencer Torkelson, Arizona State, Fr.; 2B Chase Strumpf, UCLA, So.; 3B Alec Bohm, Wichita State, Jr.; SS David Garza, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; SS Matt Sanders, Troy, Sr.; OF Joey Denison, Troy, r-Sr.; OF Ryan Ward, Bryant, r-Fr.; OF Josh Stowers, Louisville, Jr.; OF Brett Kinneman, NC State, Jr.; OF Andrew Moritz, UNC Greensboro, Jr.; DH Chase Cockrell, Ole Miss, Jr.; UT Aaron Schunk, Georgia, So.; UT Matt Lloyd, Indiana, Jr.; SP John Rooney, Hofstra, Jr.; SP Ryan Campbell, UIC, Sr.; SP Chris Holba, East Carolina, Jr.; SP Joey Gonzalez, Stetson, Jr.; SP Ryan Rolison, Ole Miss, So.; SP Kris Bubic, Stanford, Jr.; SP Brian Brown, NC State, Sr.; RP Parker Caracci, Ole Miss, r-So.; RP Joe O’Donnell, NC State, r-Sr.; RP Jake Mulholland, Oregon State, So.; RP Durbin Feltman, TCU, Jr.; RP Clark Cota, UNCW, Jr.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.

For more information on the NCAA Division I All-America team, contact NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro of West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.

Related link:
NCBWA All-America Teams (2001-18)