National Collegiate Baseball Writers June 7, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russell Anderson
Three honorees played in national final

CHICAGO (NCBWA) Eastern Connecticut State University senior outfielder Dwight Wildman (Seymour, Conn.) has been named National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Division III Player of the Year, while his teammate, sophomore Ryan DiPietro (Berlin, Conn.) shared the organization's Division III Pitcher of the Year award with George Fox University's junior Scott Hyde (Grants Pass, Ore.).


Wildman, who was also named American Baseball Coaches Association first-team All-American, Little East Conference "Player of the Year," and NCAA Division III New England Regional all-tournament MVP, batted .425 with 61 runs scored, 20 doubles, 16 home runs, 71 RBI, 26-31 stolen bases.

DiPietro was named ABCA first-team All-American, Little East Conference Pitcher of the Year and was named to the NCAA Division III New England Regional all-tournament team with a 9-0 record, an NCAA Division III-leading 0.83 earned run average, three shutouts and 151 strikeouts in 97.1 innings pitched.

Hyde was an ABCA first-team All-American, the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship's "Most Outstanding Player," named to the NCAA Division III West Region all-tournament team and named Northwest Conference Player of the Year with a 14-1 record (most wins in NCAA Division III), seven complete games, two shutouts, a 1.99 earned run average and 191 strikeouts (also tops in NCAA Division III) in 122.0 innings pitched.

Hyde, who was named NCBWA Division III "Pitcher of the Week" on April 3 after throwing a no-hitter versus Pacific, went 3-0 at the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship with 30 strikeouts in 20 innings pitched and defeated Eastern Connecticut, 6-3, in the championship game.

The voting was conducted by the eight NCBWA NCAA Division III regional coordinators. Eight regional players and eight regional pitchers, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) membership, advanced to the national ballot.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, publication and writing contests.