November 14, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
18 conferences represented on three teams

WASHINGTON, D.C. (NCBWA) - Returning NCBWA Pro-Line Athletic All-America stars and several standouts from the 2006 NCAA World Series highlight the eighth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association preseason 2007 All-America team.

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.2006 first team first baseman Andy D'Alessio (.312-23 HR-85 RBI) of Clemson joins fellow first unit member OF Kellen Kulbacki of James Madison (.464-24 HR-75 RBI), the nation's returning leader in home runs and batting average in Division I, and Cal State Fullerton World Series returnee Wes Roemer (13-2, 145 SO, 7 walks, 155 IP) as three of the sterling returnees.

NCAA World Series heroes 1B Chad Flack and SS Josh Horton of North Carolina on the second team have their school poised to make another run at the NCAA Championship, captured last June by Oregon State for the first time. Fellow CWS competitors include first team starting pitcher (after blazing in relief in '06) Cole St. Clair, P/1B Joe Savery and SS Brian Friday of the Rice Owls on the '07 dream team rosters.

Team USA performers from summer 2006 also are in abundance with Vanderbilt 3B Pedro Alvarez, utility star P-1B Sean Doolittle of Virginia, Rice's St. Clair, and Texas Tech's Roger Kieschnick, to name just a few, receiving recognition.

The starting pitching staff also has strong numbers worth noting behind Roemer. TCU's Jake Arrieta (14-4), Arkansas' Nick Schmidt (9-3), and Nebraska's Tony Watson (10-2) were aces of their staffs, while relief men Joshua Fields (15 saves) of Georgia, Blair Erickson (14) of UC Irvine and Milan Dinga of Army (10) combined for 39 saves and microscopic ERAs in a total of 81 appearances out of the bullpen.

First team infielders and outfielders featured such feats as Alvarez's 22 home runs as a freshman, seven triples and 36 stolen bases by Alabama OF Emeel Salem, a 11-2 pitching mark to compliment a .324 batting average by Doolittle, and 17 home runs apiece by C Kevin Coughlin of Kentucky and OF Steven Strasbaugh of Western Carolina.

The three units have representation from 18 different conferences as teams anticipate the opening of 2007 baseball in late January or early February. Preseason All-Americans give a sneak peek to those who may be in contention for the prestigious 21st annual Dick Howser Trophy, voted upon by NCBWA members and awarded annually in Omaha, Neb., prior to the NCAA World Series.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Sean Coughlin Kentucky 6-1 215 Sr. Morrison, Colo.
1B Andy D'Alessio Clemson 6-3 215 Sr. Naples, Fla.
2B Eric Sogard Arizona State 5-9 169 Sr. Phoenix, Ariz.
3B Pedro Alvarez Vanderbilt 6-2 215 So. New York, N.Y.
SS Zack Cozart Mississippi 6-1 190 Sr. Collierville, Tenn.
UT Sean Doolittle Virginia 6-3 185 Jr. Tabernacle, N.J.
DH Robert Rodebaugh Elon 6-0 210 Sr. Marietta, Ga.
OF Emeel Salem Alabama 6-0 175 Jr. Mountain Brook, Ala.
OF Steven Strasbaugh Western Carolina 5-10 190 Jr. Venice, Fla.
OF Kellen Kulbacki James Madison 5-11 195 Jr. Hershey, Pa.
SP Wes Roemer Cal State Fullerton 6-0 185 Jr. Glendora, Calif.
SP Cole St. Clair Rice 6-5 225 Jr. Santa Ana, Calif.
SP Jake Arrieta TCU 6-4 225 Jr. Plano, Texas
SP Tony Watson Nebraska 6-4 210 Jr. Grimes, Iowa
SP Nick Schmidt Arkansas 6-5 220 Jr. St. Louis, Mo.
RP Joshua Fields Georgia 6-0 183 Jr. Hull, Ga.
RP Blair Erickson UC Irvine 6-1 225 Sr. Fair Oaks, Calif.
RP Milan Dinga Army 6-2 210 Jr. Tampa, Fla.
Second Team: C Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech, Jr.; 1B Chad Flack, North Carolina, Jr.; 2B Ramon Corona, N.C. State, Jr.; 3B Jonathan Greene, Western Carolina, Jr.; SS Josh Horton, North Carolina, Jr.; UT Joe Savery, Rice, Jr.; UTIL Damon Sublett, Wichita State, Jr.; DH Brendan Murphy, Marshall, Sr.; OF Jared Prince, Washington State, So.; OF Danny Payne, Georgia Tech, Jr.; OF Tommy Lentz, Winthrop, Sr.; SP Barry Enright, Pepperdine, Jr.; SP Chris Ashman, Oral Roberts, Sr.; SP Alex Wilson, Winthrop, So.; SP Nick Chigges, College Of Charleston, Sr.; SP Aaron Shafer, Wichita State, So.; SP David Price, Vanderbilt, Jr.; RP Daniel Moskos, Clemson, Jr.; RP Luke Tucker, Florida State, Sr.
Third Team: C J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee, Jr.; C Matt Smith, Texas Tech, So.; 1B Adam Amar, Memphis, Sr.; 2B Jemile Weeks, Miami (Fla.), So.; 3B Conor Gillaspie, Wichita State, So.; 3B Curt Smith, Maine, So.; SS Brian Friday, Rice, Jr.; SS Todd Frazier, Rutgers, Jr.; UT Josh Dew, Troy, Jr.; UT Ryan Wehrle, Nebraska, Sr.; DH David Doss, South Alabama, Sr.; OF Roger Kieschnick, Texas Tech, So.; OF Marcus Davis, Alcorn State, Jr.; OF Eric Rose, Michigan, Sr.; OF Collin Cowgill, Kentucky, Jr.; SP Mitch Harris, Navy, Jr.; SP Bryan Henry, Florida State, Sr.; SP Ben Norton, Evansville, Sr.; SP Christian Friedrich, Eastern Kentucky, So.; SP Greg Dombrowski, Kentucky, Jr.; SP Tommy Hunter, Alabama, So.; SP Dan DeLucia, Ohio State, Sr.; RP Daniel Latham, Tulane, Sr.; RP Brett Hunter, Pepperdine, So.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Player of the Year Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, publication and writing contests.