June 13, 2007
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
56 players honored by association on 12th annual team

WASHINGTON, D.C. (NCBWA) – A total of 56 standout college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 12th Annual Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-American Team, the organization announced today.

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.The 2007 NCBWA All-America Team is comprised from 21 different conferences and 19 conference championships teams. The three All-American squads are also made up of 22 conference Player of the Year winners.

All four 2007 Dick Howser Trophy finalists are first-team selections, including Conference USA Player of the Year Joe Savery (Rice), the NCAA strikeout leader and No. 1 overall pick of the 2007 Major League Draft, David Price (Vanderbilt), the ACC Player of the Year Tony Thomas, Jr. (Florida State) and the 2007 NCAA home run champion Kyle Russell (Texas).

The recipient of the 21st Annual Dick Howser Trophy, as voted upon by NCBWA members and awarded since 1987, will be announced Friday at 10 a.m. (CDT) at the Omaha Press Club (located at 16th and Dodge Streets, 22nd floor).

The NCBWA All-America team also includes the NCBWA Stopper of the Year award winner, right-hander Luke Prihoda (Sam Houston State), who led the NCAA with 18 saves. Prihoda was the 2007 Southland Conference Pitcher of the Year and Most Valuable Player of the 2007 SLC Tournament.

The 2007 All-America squad will be well-represented at the 2007 College World Series, which begins Friday, June 15, at Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb. Seven of the eight teams at the CWS have at least one player on this year’s squad for a total of 11 players. No. 2 seed Rice (Joe Savery and Aaron Luna), No. 3 seed North Carolina (Dustin Ackley and Andrew Carnigan), No. 5 seed Arizona State (Brett Wallace and Kiel Roling) and Mississippi State (Edward Easley and Brandon Turner) have two players each.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
1B Brett Wallace Arizona State 6-1 245 So. Sonoma, Calif.
2B Tony Thomas Jr. Florida State 5-10 180 Jr. Valrico, Fla.
3B Pedro Alvarez Vanderbilt 6-2 215 So. New York, N.Y.
SS Todd Frazier Rutgers 6-4 220 Jr. Toms River, N.J.
C Sean Coughlin Kentucky 6-1 215 Sr. Morrison, Colo.
OF Kellen Kulbacki James Madison 5-11 205 Jr. Palmyra, Pa.
OF Kyle Russell Texas 6-5 185 So. Tomball, Texas
OF Robbie Widlansky Florida Atlantic 6-2 210 Jr. Coral Springs, Fla.
DH Bobby Verbick Sam Houston State 5-7 205 Jr. Angleton, Texas
UT Joe Savery Rice 6-3 215 Jr. Bellaire, Texas
SP Brian Matusz San Diego 6-4 193 So. Cave Creek, Ariz.
SP Adam Mills Charlotte 6-0 195 Sr. Big Pool, Md.
SP David Price Vanderbilt 6-5 215 Jr. Murfreesboro, Tenn.
SP Jacob Thompson Virginia 6-6 205 So. Danville, Va.
RP Andrew Carignan North Carolina 5-11 215 Jr. Norwich, Conn.
RP Luke Prihoda Sam Houston State 6-5 230 Sr. Weimar, Texas
Second Team: 1B Matt LaPorta, Florida, Sr.; 2B Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State, Jr.; 3B Greg Sexton, William & Mary, Jr.; SS Brandon Turner, Mississippi State, Fr.; C Edward Easley, Mississippi State, Jr.; C Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech, Jr.; OF Corey Brown, Oklahoma State, Jr.; OF Maurice Davis, Alcorn State, Jr.; OF Dominic de la Osa, Vanderbilt, Jr.; OF Grant Desme, Cal Poly, Jr.; DH Kiel Roling, Arizona State, So.; UT Sean Doolittle, Virginia, Jr.; SP Adrian Alaniz, Texas, Jr.; SP Raymond Guilmet, Arizona, So.; SP Bryan Henry, Florida State, Sr.; SP Nick Schmidt, Arkansas, Jr.; RP Matt German, Northern Illinois, Sr.; RP Andy Masten, Creighton, Sr.
Third Team: 1B Dustin Ackley, North Carolina, Fr.; 1B Trey Sutton Southern Miss, Jr.; 2B Logan Johnson, Louisville, Sr.; 3B Blake Stouffer, Texas A&M, Jr.; C Jonathon Lucroy, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.; SS Derek Shunk, Villanova, Jr.; OF Brad McElroy, Charlotte, Jr.; OF Justin Jenkins, West Virginia, Sr.; OF Ryan Lavarnway, Yale, So.; OF Brian Rike, Louisiana Tech, Jr.; OF Emeel Salem, Alabama, Sr.; DH Phil Disher, South Carolina, Jr.; DH Aaron Luna, Rice, So.; UT Zach Putnam, Michigan, So.; SP Nick Chigges, College Of Charleston, Sr.; SP Barry Enright, Pepperdine, Jr.; SP Scott Gorgen, UC Irvine, So.; SP Corey Kluber, Stetson, Jr.; SP Kyle Nicholson Texas A&M, Sr.; SP Wes Roemer, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.; RP Daniel Edwards, Kansas State, Jr.; RP Eryk McConnell, N.C. State, Jr.; RP Casey Weathers, Vanderbilt, Sr.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Previous Pro-Line Athletic NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2006 have featured the likes of OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, and SS-2B Rickey Weeks of Southern (all current major leaguers) , among others.

Pro-Line Athletic is in its third year as a sponsor of the NCBWA. It produces and distributes plaques for National Hitter and Pitchers of the Week during the regular season and last season extended its award production to include plaques for each member of the Pro-Line/NCBWA All-American team.

During the Summer of 2006 Pro-Line launched into the custom game clothing business with all products being manufactured in its facility in Fort Worth, Texas. As a part of this transition, the company re-branded from Pro-Line Cap Company to become Pro-Line Athletic ... a full line athletic apparel company offering American Made headwear, workout gear and uniforms.