June 8, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
37 players honored from 17 conferences Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) A total of 37 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the annual Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association NCBWA Freshman All-America Team, the organization announced today.

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.The 2009 Pro-Line Athletic NCBWA Freshman All-America Team is comprised from 17 conferences and 10 conference championship teams. The two All-America squads are also made up of 12 conference Rookie of the Year winners.

Cal State Fullerton, Texas and Wichita State each placed the most players (3) overall on the two teams, while 31 schools placed one player on the teams. Cal State Fullerton and Texas each had one player on the first team and one on the second team, while Wichita State placed two players on the second team.

The Pac-10 Conference placed three players on the first team, while the Atlantic Coast Conference, Big East Conference, Big Ten Conference and the Southeastern Conference each placed two players on the first team. The SEC had six members on the first and second teams, The Pac-10 had four, while the ACC, Big Ten, Big West and Conference USA each had three selections.

The 2009 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 9.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
1B Preston Tucker Florida 6-0 205 Fr. Tampa, Fla.
2B Matt Jensen Cal Poly 5-10 190 Fr. Clovis, Calif.
3B Anthony Rendon Rice 5-11 180 Fr. Houston, Texas
SS AJ Pettersen Minnesota 5-9 170 rFr. Minnetonka, Minn.
C Jeremy Schaffer Tulane 6-1 205 Fr. Bellaire, Texas
OF Xavier Macklin North Carolina A&T 6-1 189 Fr. Rocky Mount, N.C.
OF George Springer Connecticut 6-3 185 Fr. New Britain, Conn.
OF Kolton Wong Hawaii 5-9 180 Fr. Hilo, Hawaii
OF Ryan Wright Louisville 6-1 190 Fr. Fort Wayne, Ind.
DH Alex Dickerson Indiana 6-3 210 Fr. Poway, Calif.
UT Danny Hultzen Virginia 6-2 190 Fr. Bethesda, Md.
SP Trevor Bauer UCLA 6-1 175 Fr. Valencia, Calif.
SP Sean Gilmartin Florida State 6-2 175 Fr. Moorpark, Calif.
SP Taylor Jungmann Texas 6-6 195 Fr. Temple, Texas
SP Tyler Pill Cal State Fullerton 6-1 180 Fr. Covina, Calif.
RP Sam Gaviglio Oregon State 6-1 170 Fr. Ashland, Ore.
RP Mitchell Lambson Arizona State 6-1 190 Fr. Tualatin, Ore.
RP Matty Ott LSU 6-1 180 Fr. New Orleans, La.
Second Team: C C.J. Cron, Utah; 1B Ian Nielsen, Ball State; 2B Levi Michael, North Carolina; 3B Troy Channing, Saint Mary's; SS Joe Panik, St. John's; OF Jackie Bradley, Jr., South Carolina; OF Kameron Brunty, Southern Miss; OF Taylor Dugas, Alabama; OF Dusty Robinson, Fresno State; DH Aaron Westlake, Vanderbilt; UT Zack Cox, Arkansas; SP Jordan Cooper, Wichita State; SP Eric Harrington, Lamar; SP Charlie Lowell, Wichita State; SP Anthony Meyo, Coastal Carolina; SP Noe Ramirez, Cal State Fullerton; RP Austin Dicharry, Texas; RP Justin Malone, Georgia State;
RP Tyler Mizenko, Winthrop.
Complete release with statistics (.pdf)

Pro-Line Athletic is in its fifth year as a sponsor of the NCBWA. It produces and distributes plaques for National Hitter and Pitchers of the Week during the regular season and extends its award production to include plaques for each member of the Pro-Line/NCBWA All-American team.

During the Summer of 2006 Pro-Line launched into the custom game clothing business with all products being manufactured in its facility in Fort Worth, Texas. As a part of this transition, the company re-branded from Pro-Line Cap Company to become Pro-Line Athletic ... a full line athletic apparel company offering American Made headwear, workout gear and uniforms.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.