May 26, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
Fogle, Simpson selected Division II Players of the Year Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) Fourteen standout players are featured on the first team of the 2010 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Division II All-America Team, the organization announced today.

Erskine's Brian Fogle was named NCBWA Division II Player of the Year, while Hayden Simpson of Southern Arkansas was chosen as the association's Pitcher of the Year. Dan O'Brien of UC San Diego was selected NCBWA Division II Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Fogle finished the season with a .430 batting average with 23 doubles, 28 home runs, and 103 runs batted in. He set NCAA career records for home runs (73), RBI's (310), and total bases (630). Simpson was 13-1 with a 1.81 ERA in 99.1 innings. He made 15 starts and recorded six complete games, tossing three shutouts and combining for three others, while piling up 131 strikeouts and limiting opponents to a .201 average. O'Brien led the Tritons to a 54-8 record and national runner-up finish in their first-ever national championship game appearance.

Following is the complete 2010 NCBWA Division II All-America Team:

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
1B Jason Carr New Mexico Highlands 6-5 225 Sr. Puyallup, Wash.
2B Greyson Schram Concord 5-11 183 Sr. Stanley, N.C.
3B Cannon Lester Southern Arkansas 5-11 185 Sr. El Dorado, Ark.
SS Paul Bingham Indiana (Pa.) 6-3 205 Sr. Hanover, Pa.
C Pat Trettel Seton Hill 6-1 240 Sr. Wexford, Pa.
OF Brandon Decker Valdosta State 6-3 225 Sr. Holiday, Fla.
OF Bryan Fogle Erskine 6-2 225 Sr. Lexington, S.C.
OF Jeremy Nowak Mount Olive 6-1 205 Sr. Cheektowaga, N.Y.
UT Shayne Houck Kutztown 6-0 205 So. Boyertown, Pa.
SP Joe Holtmeyer Nebraska-Omaha 6-3 240 So. Omaha, Neb.
SP Jose Macias Franklin Pierce 6-1 185 Jr. Bronx, N.Y.
SP Matt Rossman UC San Diego 6-5 215 Sr. La Verne, Calif.
SP Hayden Simpson Southern Arkansas 6-0 175 Jr. Magnolia, Ark.
RP Atlee Pearson Erskine 6-0 190 Jr. Duncan, S.C.
Second Team: C David Albritton, Emporia State; 1B Brandon Gregorich, UC San Diego; 2B Chas Anthony, Erskine; SS Jacob Taylor, Missouri Southern; 3B Deryk Marks, Augustana (S.D.); OF Nate Baumann, Augustana (S.D.); OF Devin Rudolph, Tiffin; OF Chance Tuttle, Central Missouri; UT Mike Knox, Mount Olive; SP Gabriel Duran, Dowling; SP Tim Griffin, Rollins; SP Brooks Martin, Central Missouri; SP Tim Shibuya, UC San Diego; RP Sean Albury, Nova Southeastern.
Third Team: C Patrick Farrell, Regis; 1B Jason Rogers, Columbus State; 2B Michael Felton, Southwestern Oklahoma; SS Andrew Whittington, Southern Arkansas; 3B Abel Medina, Cal State Dominguez Hills; OF Brett Adams, Dixie State; OF Jason Cisper, Northern Kentucky; OF Sean Harrell, Georgia College & State; UT Clayton Cain, Valdosta State; SP William Buzhardt, Erskine; SP Joe Harris, Wilmington; SP Pat Haugen, San Francisco State; SP Noah Mull, Wheeling Jesuit; RP Kevin Jordan, Northern Kentucky.
Honorable Mention: SP: David Deminsky, St. Cloud State; Martin Dewald, Georgia College & State; Ben Graham, Emporia State; Kirk Jewakso, Incarnate Word; Trevor Leach, Southern Indiana; Max Russell, Florida Southern; Blake Schwartz, Minnesota State; Drew Vassil, New Mexico Highlands; Chris Zbin, Southern Connecticut State; RP: Evan Kendall, West Virginia State; Mitch Rossi, New Haven; Heath Wyatt, Southeastern Oklahoma. C: Mike Blanke, Tampa; Sean Cotton, Tusculum; Dylan Mooney, Southern Indiana. 1B: Nick DeBiasse, Central Missouri; Logan Williams, Southern Arkansas. 2B: Nick Bidroski, Wayne State (Neb.); Jackson Evans, Chico State. SS: Vance Albitz, UC San Diego; Tyler Erickson, Minnesota Duluth; Sean Estand, St. Joseph's (Ind.); Tyler Mentzer, Philadelphia U. 3B: Matt Coker, West Virginia Wesleyan; Craig Lyerly, Catawba. OF: Sam DiMatteo, California (Pa.); Taylor Ferguson, Rollins; Cody Grice, Grand Valley State; Troy Handza, California (Pa.); Patrick Johnson, Southern Arkansas; Tyler Lundy, Nebraska-Omaha; Derek Migrants, Assumption; Kevin Pillar, Cal State Dominguez Hills; Kyle Saul, UC San Diego; Shawn Ward, Georgia College & State; Joe Wendt, Wayne State (Neb.); UT/DH: Patrick Brady, Bellarmine; Will Calhoun, Abilene Christian; Cody Curry, Southwest Minnesota State.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,