June 13, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ryan Bomberger
.pdf version
34 first-year players honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) – A total of 34 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 2011 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced today.

The 2011 NCBWA Freshman All-American Team features players from 17 conferences and seven conference championship teams. The two All-American squads are also made up of 14 conference “Rookie of the Year” winners.

Four teams placed two players (overall) on the two teams, while 26 schools placed at least one player on the teams. Jacksonville placed two players on the first team, while Arkansas, Texas and Vanderbilt also each had two players selected to the teams.

The ACC, Atlantic Sun, MEAC and SEC placed two players apiece on the first team. The SEC put six members on the first and second teams, the Atlantic Sun had four and the ACC and Big South had three selections apiece on the two squads.

The 2011 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 14.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
1B Dominic Ficociello Arkansas 6-4 185 Fr. Fullerton, Calif.
2B Taylor Ratliff Jacksonville 6-3 170 Fr. Perry, Fla.
3B Colin Moran North Carolina 6-3 180 Fr. Rye, N.Y.
SS Luke Tendler North Carolina A&T 5-11 181 Fr. Wilmington, N.C.
C Matt Wollenzin Austin Peay 6-1 207 Fr. Lakewood, Colo.
OF Daniel Aldrich College of Charleston 6-1 210 Fr. Mt. Pleasant, S.C.
OF Jaycob Brugman BYU 6-0 185 Fr. Phoenix, Ariz.
OF Kyle Wren Georgia Tech 5-9 158 Fr. Peachtree City, Ga.
DH Brad Zebedis Presbyterian 6-1 210 Fr. Rock Hill, S.C.
UT Marco Gonzales Gonzaga 6-1 185 Fr. Fort Collins, Colo.
SP Tyler Barnette Charlotte 6-3 198 Fr. Hickory, N.C.
SP Scott Garner Bethune-Cookman 6-2 195 Fr. Port Orange, Fla.
SP Karsten Whitson Florida 6-4 215 Fr. Chipley, Fla.
RP Chris Anderson Jacksonville 6-4 225 Fr. Lino Lakes, Minn.
RP Cale Elam Wichita State 6-2 197 Fr. Oktaha, Okla.
RP Corey Knebel Texas 6-3 195 Fr. Georgetown, Texas
Second Team: C Austin Barrett, Mercer; 1B D.J. Peterson, New Mexico; 2B JaCoby Jones, LSU; 3B Erich Weiss, Texas; SS Logan Kirkland, South Alabama; OF Phillip Ervin, Samford; OF Alex Bacon, North Florida; OF Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M; DH Jeff Zimmerman, Northern Illinois; UT Josh Dezse, Ohio State; SP T.J. Pecoraro, Vanderbilt; SP Nick Petree, Missouri State; SP Adam Plutko, UCLA; SP Alex Gonzalez, Oral Roberts; RP Kyle Porter, California; RP Kevin Poole, Clemson; RP Kevin Ziomek, Vanderbilt; RP Barrett Astin, Arkansas.
Complete release with statistics (.pdf)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.

For more information, contact NCBWA 2nd Vice-President Ryan Bomberger (434-582-2292, rbomberger@liberty.edu) or NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro (304-293-2821, mike.montoro@mail.wvu.edu).