June 9, 2014
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ryan Bomberger
.pdf version
32 first-year players honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) – A total of 32 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 2014 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Freshman All-American team, the organization announced today.

The 2014 NCBWA Freshman All-America team features players from 17 leagues and six conference championship teams. The two All-American squads also are made up of 12 conference “Rookie of the Year” winners. In addition, 22 all-conference honorees were named to the team.

Five programs placed two players on the two teams, while 27 schools placed at least one player on the teams. Loyola Marymount and Miami, Fla., each placed two players on the first team, while Florida, LSU and Maryland each have two players listed on the teams.

The Atlantic Coast Conference had four players selected to the first team, while the Southeastern, Ohio Valley and West Coast Conferences placed two players on the first team. The SEC placed seven members on the first and second teams combined, with the ACC having five selections and the West Coast placing three players on the two teams.

The 2014 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 10.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Zack Collins Miami 6-3 220 Fr. Pembroke Pines, Fla.
1B  Ben Fisher Eastern Kentucky 6-1 205 Fr. Richmond, Ky.
2B  Jake Noll Florida Gulf Coast 6-2 195 Fr. Punta Gorda, Fla.
3B Andrew Knizner N.C. State 6-1 190 Fr. Glen Allen, Va.
SS David Fletcher Loyola Marymount 5-10 175 Fr. Cypress, Calif.
OF Austin Miller Loyola Marymount 6-0 170 Fr. Greeley, Colo.
OF Heath Quinn Samford 6-3 195 Fr. Birmingham, Ala.
OF Bryan Reynolds Vanderbilt 6-2 195 Fr. Brentwood, Tenn.
DH Casey Baker Stony Brook 6-0 175 Fr. Ronkonkoma, N.Y.
UT Alex Robles Austin Peay 5-10 197 Fr. Tucson, Ariz.
SP Tyler Alexander TCU 6-3 180 Fr. Southlake, Texas
SP Bailey Ober College of Charleston 6-8 215 Fr. Huntersville, N.C.
SP Mike Shawaryn Maryland 6-4 210 Fr. Carneys Point, N.J.
RP Thomas Burrows Alabama 6-1 220 Fr. Florence, Ala.
RP Bryan Garcia Miami 6-1 195 Fr. Miami, Fla.
RP Zach Plesac Ball State 6-3 200 Fr. Crown Point, Ind.
Second Team: C Aaron Barnett, Pepperdine; 1B Alex Woinski, Lafayette; 2B Brandon Lowe, Maryland; 3B Garrett Chapman, Georgia Southern; SS Garrett Hampson, Long Beach State; OF Matt Albanese, Bryant; OF Nick Banks, Texas A&M; OF Jake Fraley, LSU; DH Peter Alonso, Florida; UT Trenton Brooks, Nevada; SP Chris Mourelle, FIU; SP Jared Poché, LSU; SP Logan Shore, Florida; RP Ian Hamilton, Washington State; RP Marc Skinner, Troy; RP Stephen Villines, Kansas.
Complete release with statistics (.pdf)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.

For more information, contact Ryan Bomberger (434-582-2292, rbomberger@liberty.edu).