June 15, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
.pdf version
67 standout players honored by association
Bookmark and Share

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. (NCBWA) – After two rounds of voting by the organization, 67 baseball student-athletes comprise the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s 19th Annual All-America first, second and third teams, as announced on Wednesday.

Twenty different conferences are represented and 10 conference championships teams. The three All-America squads are also made up of nine conference players of the year, 11 conference pitchers of the year winners and eight first-round draft picks in the recent Major League Baseball Amateur Draft.

Members of this year’s team lead or are tied for the lead nationally in 15 different categories, including batting average (Ryan Scott, Little Rock, .435), hits (Boomer White, Texas A&M, 100), home runs per game (Spencer Johnson, Missouri State, 0.41), RBI per game (Nick Feight, UNC Wilmington, 1.52), walks (Zack Collins, Miami, 72), total bases (Nick Feight, UNC Wilmington, 175), on-base percentage (Jameson Fisher, Southeastern Louisiana, .558), wins (Alex Faedo, Florida; Ryan Foster, UNC Wilmington, 13), strikeouts (Joey Lucchesi, Southeast Missouri, 149), earned run average (Eric Lauer, Kent State, 0.69), hits allowed per nine innings (Dakota Mekkes, Michigan State, 4.11), strikeouts per nine innings (Dakota Mekkes, Michigan State, 15.16), complete games (Luke Gillingham, Navy, 8), saves (Sam Donko, VCU, 20) and whip (Troy Rallings, Washington, 0.72).

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2015 have featured the likes of P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern, 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, P-DH Brad Lincoln of Houston, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, among others.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Zack Collins Miami 6-3 220 Jr. Pembroke Pines, Fla.
C Chris Okey Clemson 5-11 195 Jr. Mount Dora, Fla.
1B Peter Alonso Florida 6-2 225 Jr. Tampa, Fla.
2B Brian Mims UNC Wilmington 5-11 185 So. Montclair, Va.
3B Will Craig Wake Forest 6-3 235 Jr. Johnson City, Tenn.
SS Sheldon Neuse Oklahoma 6-0 195 Jr. Fort Worth,. Texas
OF Seth Beer Clemson 6-2 195 Fr. Suwanee, Ga.
OF Corey Ray Louisville 6-0 190 Jr. Chicago, Ill.
OF Connor Owings Coastal Carolina 5-10 190 Sr. Gilbert, S.C.
DH G.K. Young Coastal Carolina 6-0 230 Jr. Conway, S.C.
UT Brendan McKay Louisville 6-2 212 So. Darlington, Pa.
SP Eric Lauer Kent State 6-3 205 Jr. Elyria, Ohio
SP Logan Shore Florida 6-2 215 Jr. Coon Rapids, Minn.
SP Kade McClure Louisville 6-7 235 So. Mentor, Ohio
SP Drew Harrington Louisville 6-2 229 Jr. Elizabethtown, Ky.
SP Connor Jones Virginia 6-3 200 Jr. Chesapeake, Va.
RP Troy Rallings Washington 6-2 205 Sr. Carlsbad, Calif.
RP Sam Donko VCU 6-2 235 Jr. Youngstown, Ohio
RP Shaun Anderson Florida 6-5 230 Jr. Coral Springs, Fla.
RP Zack Burdi Louisville 6-3 205 Jr. Downers Grove, Ill.
RP Bryan Garcia Miami 6-1 205 Jr. Miami, Fla
Second Team: C Nick Feight, UNC Wilmington, So.; 1B Jameson Fisher, Southeastern La., r-Jr.; 2B Nick Solak, Louisville, Jr.; 3B Boomer White, Texas A&M, Sr.; SS CJ Chatham, Florida Atlantic, Jr.; SS Charles Leblanc, Pitt, So.;
OF Jake Mangum, Mississippi State, Fr.; OF Ryan Scott, Little Rock, Jr.; OF Heath Quinn, Samford, Jr.; DH Austin Edens, Samford, So.; UT Luken Baker, TCU, Fr.; SP Joseph Camacho, Alabama State, Sr.; SP Dakota Hudson, Mississippi State, Jr.; SP AJ Puckett, Pepperdine, Jr.; SP Ryan Foster, UNC Wilmington, Sr.; SP Joey Lucchesi, Southeast Missouri, Sr.; SP Braden Webb, South Carolina, Fr.; RP Stephen Nogosek, Oregon, Jr.; RP Dylan Moore, Louisiana-Lafayette, So.; RP Mark Ecker, Texas A&M, Jr.; RP Matthew Gorst, Georgia Tech, Jr.; RP Pat Krall, Clemson, Jr.
Third Team: C Matt Thasis, Virginia, So.; 1B Darrick Hall, Dallas Baptist, Jr.; 1B Hunter Melton, Texas A&M, Sr.;
2B Clayton Daniel, Jacksonville State, So.; 3B Jake Burger, Missouri State, So.; 3B Zach Remillard, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; SS Taylor Walls, Florida State, So.; OF Spencer Johnson, Missouri State, Sr.; OF Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt, Jr.;
OF Anfernee Grier, Auburn, Jr.; OF Bryson Bowman, Western Carolina, r-Jr.; OF Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt, So.;  DH JJ Schwarz, Florida, So.; UT Adam Haseley, Virginia, So.; SP Alex Faedo, Florida, So.; SP Brigham Hill, Texas A&M, So.; SP Clarke Schmidt, South Carolina, So.; SP Kevin Hill, South Alabama, r-Sr.; SP Mike Rucker, BYU, Jr.; SP Jon Duplantier, Rice, Jr.; SP Luke Gillingham, Navy, Sr.; RP Thomas Burrows, Alabama, Jr.; RP Mike Morrison, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; RP Dakota Mekkes, Michigan State, r-So.; RP Iannick Remillard, Canisius, Sr.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.p>

For more information on the NCAA Division I All-America team, contact NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro of West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.

Related link:
NCBWA All-America Teams (2001-2016)