June 18, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ryan Powell
.pdf version
Veteran coach earns school's first CWS berth
Bookmark and Share

OMAHA (NCBWA) After leading Coastal Carolina to the greatest season in program history, including its first-ever trip to the 2016 College World Series, CCU's Gary Gilmore has been named to National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association National Coach of the Year.

"Congratulations to Coach Gilmore on his first NCBWA National Coach of the Year award and getting his Chanticleers to Omaha," NCBWA Executive Director Bo Carter said. "He has given so much time and energy to that program and for him to lead his team to the pinnacle of the sport is a testament to his loyalty and dedication."

Gilmore's squad punched its first ticket to the CWS with a thrilling 4-3 walk-off victory over LSU in game two of the Baton Rouge Super Regional last weekend. The victory was the 49th of the season for the Chanticleers, who have made 15 NCAA Regional appearances and three NCAA Super Regional appearances under Gilmore's watch in Conway, S.C.

CCU opened the season ranked No. 24 in the NCBWA preseason poll and after dropping out for several weeks, returned to the rankings on April 18 and have won 38 of its last 46 games. The Chants have won 841 games during Gilmore's tenure and arrive in Omaha winners of 15 of their last 16 games, including a 5-1 mark in NCAA Tournament play. CCU won the Super Regional at LSU in two games, clinching in dramatic, walk-off fashion last Sunday night.

The Big South regular season and tournament champions had six players earn all-league honors, while Gilmore was named Big South Coach of the Year for the ninth time, outfielder Connor Owings was the Big South Player of the Year and righthander Andrew Beckwith was the Big South Pitcher of the Year. Shortstop Michael Paez was taken in the fourth round by the New York Mets during last week's MLB Draft. Owings and designated hitter G.K. Young were recently named first team NCBWA All-Americans, while third baseman Zach Remillard and righthander Mike Morrison were named to the third team.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

2016: Gary Gilmore, Coastal Carolina
2015: Paul Mainieri, LSU
2014: Mike Gillespie, UC Irvine
2013: Tracy Smith, Indiana
2012: Matt Senk, Stony Brook
2011: David Esquer, California
2010: Jim Schlossnagle, TCU
2009: Brian O'Connor, Virginia
2008: Mike Batesole Fresno State

Related link:
NCBWA Coach of the Year