April 15, 2021
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
Association to honor late Associate Executive Director
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) After the recent passing of Russell D. Anderson, legendary publicist and longtime National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association treasurer and associate executive director, the NCBWA Board of Directors has unanimously voted to rename the prestigious NCBWA Wilbur Snypp Award the Russell D. Anderson/Wilbur Snypp Award to memorialize the popular Anderson, who passed away April 5, with Snypp, the organization's founder.

"It is only fitting that we rename the former Wilbur Snypp Award the Russell D. Anderson/Wilbur Snypp Award starting with the 2021 recipient," NCBWA executive director Bo Carter said. "Russ Anderson worked tireless hours for Conference USA for 25-plus years and with the NCBWA over parts of four decades to promote college baseball and to develop one of the top national awards' programs and presentations annually. The board agreed this would be a wonderful way to honor Russ' memory."

The award, presented annually by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association for outstanding contributions to college baseball since 1975 when 1962 NCBWA founder Wilbur (Bill) Snypp of Ohio State earned the honor, has recognized some prominent figures in college baseball. Snypp captured the inaugural kudos in '75.

In fact, Anderson was the 2002 Snypp Award winner after serving as vice president and later president of NCBWA before becoming the group's longest-standing treasurer from 1996-2021.

"I have all the respect in the world for Russ Anderson," NCBWA associate executive director Mike Montoro said. "There are not two individuals in the country who have made it their life's work to promote college baseball more than Russell Anderson and Wilber Snypp. What a fitting tribute to their memories and a testament to their passion for the promotion of college baseball.

"Russ recruited me to join the NCBWA board in 2002 and from there, I worked with an outstanding professional who couldn't be outworked. He had a plethora of friends and made a tremendous impact on even more. He has left a legacy that is unmatched, and he will be missed tremendously. The NCBWA, Conference USA, and especially his friends and colleagues, lost an all-time great!"

The late college baseball legend was part of several major developments in the 59-year history of the organization and helped transition the voting for the Dick Howser Trophy (NCAA Division I Player of the Year) from the American Baseball Coaches Association to the NCBWA prior to the 1998 season.

The native of Downers Grove, Illinois, also helped streamline NCBWA officers' succession and board membership, scripted the annual Dick Howser Trophy and NCBWA major awards news conferences annually in Omaha, Nebraska, during the NCAA World Series, updated the group's national logo and revamped dues payment for the NCBWA.

Some of the previous winners of the Anderson/Snypp Award besides Anderson and Snypp have been Mike Patrick of ESPN, Kyle Peterson of ESPN and D1Baseball, Montoro and Carter of the NCBWA, Dennis Poppe, J.D. Hamilton, Jim Wright and Gary Johnson of the NCAA, Aaron Fitt and Jeremy Mills of D1Baseball and several of the nation's leading college baseball publicists.

"In my wildest dreams, I never thought I would be considered for such an amazing honor with the Wilbur Snypp Award," NCBWA assistant director and '20 awardee Malcolm Gray said. "All the great recipients ahead of me are a "Who's Who" of college baseball and to be mentioned in the same breath as them, I am truly honored. Russ, along with Mike Montoro and Bo Carter, took me under their wing back in 2005, and I couldn't have been more honored. I learned about the media relations business from them and Tom McClellan and what college baseball was all about. Our conversations during our Conference USA days, whether it was on the phone or in person at postseason tournaments as well as our times at the College World Series, I knew I found a home in athletics. It is only fitting that the NCBWA Board of Directors unanimously decided to add Russ' name to this award, because he gave his entire life for the sport, we all love."

Voting for the annual national honor takes place in January following the previous baseball season with a February release date. Gray became the 46thannual awardee prior to the '21 baseball campaign.

New trophies and logos for the Anderson/Snypp Award are being developed and will be unveiled in coming months.

Related links:
NCBWA mourns the loss of Russ Anderson
Statements from the NCBWA
Tribute from Conference USA