Football Writers Association of America Jan. 7, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dave Sittler
Annual gift named for former longtime executive director

NEW ORLEANS (FWAA) – Nate Kerkhoff, a senior at Blue Valley High School in Overland Park, Kan., was named Monday as the 11th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA's executive director and was the organization's president in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is given to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 18-year-old Kerkhoff is the son of longtime FWAA member Blair Kerkhoff of the Kansas City Star, who served as FWAA president in 1997.

Nate's impressive academic record at Blue Valley High School includes selection to the National Honor Society with a 3.7 GPA, while being named an Advanced Placement Scholar. An all-state and all-conference selection during a record-setting baseball career, he was also an all-conference selection in football and helped lead his team to a Kansas state championship. Those successes resulted in his selection to the East Kansas League Scholar-Athlete team in both sports.

In addition to his academic and athletic achievements, Nate has been involved in numerous extracurricular activities as his high school. Some of those achievements include the annual Christmas toy drive, serving as a Tiger Ambassador and doing volunteer work with younger students in the Tiger Mentor program.

“Nate's work ethic is inspirational to those around him, and makes him a great role model for the younger students in our school,” said Blue Valley football coach Steve Rampy. “It is a credit to his diligence and perseverance that he has maintained such high academic marks while being involved in so many activities.”

Scheduled to graduate in May 2008, Nate plans to attend a university in the Big 12 Conference.

Previous Meece Scholarship winners include: Brett Goering, Topeka, Kan.; Kelly Brooks, Denver, Colo.; James Butz, Schaumberg, Ill.; Sara Barnhart, Atlanta, Ga.; Patrick Davis, Coventry, Conn.; Jacqueline O'Toole, Gaithersburg, Md.; Garrett Holtz, Denver, Colo.:, Katie Hersom, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Katie Wieberg, Lawson, Mo.; and Kaylynn Monroe, Winter Park, Fla.

Related link:
• Volney Meece Scholarship