Football Writers Association of America

2021-22 FWAA Master Awards Calendar
Tues., Sept. 7: First regular-season FWAA-NFF Super 16 poll
Wed., Sept. 15: 2020 collegepressbox Best Writing Contest results announced
Wed., Sept. 22: 2020 Steve Ellis Beat Writer of the Year announced
Mon., Nov. 8: All-America ballot for defense/offensive line sent to membership
Thurs., Nov. 11: Armed Forces Merit Award recipient announced
Sun., Nov. 14: All-America defense/offensive line selection call
Mon., Nov. 15: All-America ballot for offense/special teams sent to membership
Wed., Nov. 17: Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists announced
Wed., Nov. 17: Outland Trophy semifinalists announced
Sun., Nov. 21: All-America offense/special teams selection call
Mon., Nov. 22: Outland Trophy finalists announced
Sun., Dec. 5: Final FWAA-NFF Super 16 Poll
Mon., Dec. 6: Bronko Nagurski Trophy presentation (Charlotte)
Tues., Dec. 7: Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year finalists announced (Dallas)
Thurs., Dec. 9: Outland Trophy winner announced (ESPN)
Fri., Dec. 10: FWAA All-America Team announced
Fri., Dec. 17: Orange Bowl Courage Award recipient announced.
Mon., Dec. 20: Eddie Robinson Coach of Year recipient announced
Thurs., Jan. 6: Volney Meece Scholarship recipient announced
Fri., Jan. 7: FWAA/NFF Past Presidents Dinner (Indianapolis); Bert McGrane Award/Lifetime Achievement Award announced
Sat., Jan. 8: Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Reception (Indianapolis)
Sun., Jan. 9: FWAA Board Meeting/Reception (Indianapolis)
Wed., Jan. 12: Outland Trophy Awards Dinner (Omaha)
Mon., Jan. 17: FWAA Freshman All-America Team and Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach of the Year, Freshman Player of the Year announced

The FWAA will continue its weekly awards throughout the season:
Monday: Cheez-It Bowl National Team of the Week
Tuesday: Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week
Tuesday: Freshman Focus: A look at the week's top performances from first-year players and head coaches
Wednesday: Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award nominee

All-America Team presented by the Goodyear Cotton Bowl
Presented at the conclusion of the season by the FWAA All-America Committee
2021 FWAA All-America Team
75th Anniversary FWAA All-America Team
All-time FWAA All-America Teams (.pdf)
Official site:

Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club to the nation's most outstanding defensive player
2021 Winner: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama
2021 Finalists
2021 Preseason Watch List
2020 Winner: Zaven Collins, Tulsa
Official site:

Outland Trophy
Presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman
2021 Winner: Jordan Davis, Georgia
2021 Finalists
2021 Semifinalists
2021 Preseason Watch List
2020 Winner: Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
Official site:

Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl
Presented to the nation's top head coach
2021 Finalists
Official site:

Freshman All-America Team presented by Chris Doering Mortgage
Presented at the conclusion of the season
2021 FWAA Freshman All-America Team
2021 FWAA Freshman Player of the Year: Brock Bowers, Georgia
2021 FWAA Freshman Breakout Performance: CJ Stroud, Ohio State
2021 FWAA Most Inspirational Freshman: Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State
All-Time FWAA Freshman All-America Teams (.pdf)
All-time teams: 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020

Orange Bowl Courage Award
Honoring someone in college football who shows great courage in the face of adversity
2021 Winner: Utah Utes

Armed Forces Merit Award
Honoring an individual and/or a group who have created, developed and produced a program within the realm of the sport of football that provides care, concern and support for past or present members of the United States Armed Forces and/or their families.
2021 Recipient: Damian Jackson, Nebraska

Cheez-It Bowl National Team of the Week
Presented each Monday during the regular season, as selected by the FWAA All-America Committee

Super 11 Awards
Recognition given to Division I FBS programs and their SID's for excellence in working with the media
2020 Recipients

Volney Meece Scholarship
A $1,000 annual grant is given to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member

Bert McGrane Award
Presented to a member of the FWAA for outstanding contribution to the organization

collegepressbox Best Writing Contest
Contest to reward the best annual works by FWAA members
29th Annual Contest Winners (2020 season)
Matter is Steve Ellis Beat Writer of the Year (2020 season)

Grantland Rice Trophy (retired)
Presented to the national champion, as voted on by an FWAA panel (1954-2013)

Andrea Adelson ACC
Evan Barnes Memphis Commercial Appeal American Athletic Conference
Kirk Bohls Austin American-Statesman Chairman
Travis Brown Bryan-College Station Eagle SEC
Ken Capps Conference USA
Brett Ciancia Pick Six Previews National
Angelique Chengelis Detroit News Big Ten Conference
Scott Dochterman The Athletic Big Ten Conference
Scott Farrell collegepressbox Sun Belt Conference
Bryan Fischer Athlon Sports Pac-12 Conference
John Hoover Big 12 Conference
Shehan Jeyarajah CBS Sports Big 12 Conference
Nate Mink Syracuse Post-Standard ACC
Tony Siracusa Last Word on College Football Pac-12 Conference
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications National, Independents
David Ubben The Athletic SEC
Chris Vannini The Athletic Mountain West Conference
John Wagner Toledo Blade retired Mid-American Conference