Football Writers Association of America Jan. 8, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dave Sittler
Annual gift named for former longtime executive director

FT. LAUDERDALE, Fla. (FWAA) Jack Caywood, a senior at Free State High School in Lawrence, Kan., was named Thursday as the 12th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA's executive director and was the organization's president in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is given to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 18-year-old Caywood is the son of long-time FWAA member Kurt Caywood of the Topeka Capital-Journal. He is also the grandson of Barbara Caywood, the first female sports writer in Kansas and a pioneer for female rights in sports journalism.

Jack's impressive academic record at Free State High School includes selection to the National Honor Society with a 3.97 GPA, and winner of the President's Award for Educational Excellence.

An all-conference and honorable mention all-state selection in football, Jack helped lead his team to the Kansas 6A championship game. He is also captain of the wrestling team and a two-time state qualifier in the sport.

In addition to his academic and athletic achievements, Jack has been involved in numerous extracurricular activities. Some of those achievements include working for Habitat for Humanity, participating in his Church Youth Group and Chamber Choir.

"I can't imagine anyone more deserving of the FWAA scholarship than Jack Caywood," wrote Lawrence Journal-World sports writer Chuck Woodling in his letter of recommendation. "Not only are his academics and citizenship exemplary, his competitiveness as a wrestler and as an undersized defensive line lineman on Free State High's state finalist football team elevate him to an even high level."

Scheduled to graduate in May 2009, Jack plans to attend Baker University, where he will study engineering and play football.

Previous Meece Scholarship winners include: Brett Goering, Topeka, Kan.; Kelly Brooks, Denver, Colo.; James Butz, Schaumberg, Ill.; Sara Barnhart, Atlanta, Ga.; Patrick Davis, Coventry, Conn.; Jacqueline O'Toole, Gaithersburg, Md.; Garrett Holtz, Denver, Colo.:, Katie Hersom, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Katie Wieberg, Lawson, Mo.; and Kaylynn Monroe, Winter Park, Fla.; Nate Kerkhoff, Overland Park, Kan.

Related link:
Volney Meece Scholarship