Football Writers Association of America Jan. 7, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dave Sittler
Annual gift named for former longtime executive director Bookmark and Share

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. (FWAA) Haley Dodd, a senior at Saint Thomas Aquinas High School in Overland Park, Kan., was named Thursday as the 13th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA's executive director and was the organization's president in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is given to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 17-year-old Dodd is the daughter of FWAA member Dennis Dodd of CBS Sportsline. A longtime FWAA board member, Dennis Dodd served as the organization's President in 2006.

Haley's impressive academic record at Saint Thomas Aquinas High School includes selection to the Principal's Honor Roll with a 3.60 GPA, which she achieved while taking several elective honors courses.

In addition to her academic achievements, Haley has been involved in numerous extracurricular activities. Some of those achievements include school musicals, concert choir, girl's chorale, cheerleader, reporter for the student newspaper and participation in the Walk For Life Charity.

Matt Hallauer, Adviser for The Shield, the Saint Thomas Aquinas student newspaper, wrote in his letter of recommendation that "Haley Dodd is a model student for others. She excels at everything and does it politely. Haley will be a strong reporter at the college level. She has the maturity and sense of responsibility that she needs to properly juggle her priorities."

Scheduled to graduate in May 2010, Haley plans to attend the University of Missouri-Columbia, where she will study broadcast journalism.

Previous Meece Scholarship winners include: Brett Goering, Topeka, Kan.; Kelly Brooks, Denver, Colo.; James Butz, Schaumberg, Ill.; Sara Barnhart, Atlanta, Ga.; Patrick Davis, Coventry, Conn.; Jacqueline O'Toole, Gaithersburg, Md.; Garrett Holtz, Denver, Colo.:, Katie Hersom, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Katie Wieberg, Lawson, Mo.; Kaylynn Monroe, Winter Park, Fla.; Nate Kerkhoff, Overland Park, Kan.; and Jack Caywood, Lawrence, Kan.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the FWAA and its award programs, contact Executive Director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198, or visit the association's official website,

Related link:
Volney Meece Scholarship