Football Writers Association of America Jan. 10, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dave Sittler
Annual gift named for former longtime executive director
Bookmark and Share  

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (FWAA) Donald Hunt, a sophomore at the Berklee College of Music in Boston, was named Monday as the 14th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA's executive director and was the organization's president in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is given to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 19-year-old Hunt is the son of FWAA member Donald Hunt, a staff member of the Philadelphia Tribune and also writes the HBCU notebook for

Donald's impressive academic record includes making the dean's list each semester at Berklee and named to the National Society of Leadership and Success (Berklee Chapter), while maintaining a 3.5 GPA. In high school, he achieved Eagle Scout status in the Boy Scouts of America; received the Greater Philadelphia Cappies Award for Best Senior Male Critic; won Boy of the Year honors from the Sonny Hill Basketball League; and received the Superintendent's Award for Excellence.

In addition to his academic work, Donald is also a member of the Emerson College cross country team. He has completed internships at Clear Channel Communications in programming and sales, Ed Keane Associates in music industry marketing, and with the Handel and Haydn Society in marketing.

Previous Meece Scholarship winners include: Brett Goering, Topeka, Kan.; Kelly Brooks, Denver, Colo.; James Butz, Schaumberg, Ill.; Sara Barnhart, Atlanta, Ga.; Patrick Davis, Coventry, Conn.; Jacqueline O'Toole, Gaithersburg, Md.; Garrett Holtz, Denver, Colo.:, Katie Hersom, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Katie Wieberg, Lawson, Mo.; Kaylynn Monroe, Winter Park, Fla.; Nate Kerkhoff, Overland Park, Kan.; Jack Caywood, Lawrence, Kan; and Haley Dodd, Overland Park, Kan.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

Related link:
Volney Meece Scholarship