Football Writers Association of America Jan. 13, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dave Sittler
Annual gift named for former longtime executive director
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) – Robert Abrahamson, a senior at Chadwick Prep School in Palos Verdes, Calif., was named Tuesday the 18th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA's executive director and was the organization's president in 1971. The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is awarded to a deserving son or daugher of an FWAA member.

The 18-year-old Abrahamson is the son of FWAA member Alan Abrahamson.

Robert has compiled an impressive list of academic achievements and extracurricular activities. A National Merit finalist who scored a perfect 2400 SAT score on his first attempt, Robert has maintained a 4.44 weighted GPA while taking a strenuous load of advanced placement classes throughout his high school career.

A member of the National Honor Society, he was also elected to the National Chinese Honor Society, which is awarded for outstanding character and GPA in a foreign language. Robert is the only person in the history of his school to attain an EiHA Research Internship at USC, while also completing three internships at UCLA in science and mathematics.

In addition to his superb work in the class room, Robert has been a member of Chadwick's golf and tennis teams, has been an officer in the student and honor councils, president of the math team and Yearbook Editor. He has also provided community service work for Habitat for Humanity and Los Hermanos Gris, where he received the Silver Presidential Service Award.

Robert has been admitted early to the California Institute of Technology, and is waiting to hear back from several other colleges. He intends to study biological engineering, mathematics and computer science.

Previous Meece scholarship winners include: Brett Goering, Topeka, Kan.; Kelly Brooks, Denver, Colo.; Elk Grove Village, Ill.; Sara Barnhart, Atlanta, Ga., Patrick Davis, Coventry, Conn.; Jacqueline O’Toole, Gaithersburg, Md.; Garrett Holtz, Denver, Colo.:, Katie Hersom, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Katie Wieberg, Lawson, Mo.; Kaylynn Monroe, Winter Park, Fla.; Nate Kerkhoff, Overland Park, Kan.; Jack Caywood, Lawrence, Kan.; Donald Hunt, Philadelphia, Pa.,; Alaina Martens, La Vista, Neb.; Emily Alford, Tupelo, Miss. and Sarah Helsley, Edmond, Okla.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 214-870-6516.

Related link:
• Volney Meece Scholarship