April 16, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Chuck Dunlap
ACC boasts seven closers among 45 chosen Bookmark and Share

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (NCBWA) – Forty-five relief pitchers are included on the midseason watch list for the fifth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, the association announced Thursday. The award is given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I college baseball.

The midseason watch list includes Addison Reed of San Diego State, who leads the nation with 12 saves and is the only closer with double digits in that category. The sophomore right-hander carries a 0.51 earned run average and has totaled 20 strikeouts in only 14.2 innings pitched.

Not far behind Reed are nine save relief specialists all tied for second nationally: Luke Demko (1-3, 2.57) of Rhode Island, Ryan Smith (0-0, 4.19) of Dartmouth, Eric Pettis (3-1, 3.83) of UC Irvine, Kyle Bellamy (3-0, 1.40) of Miami (Fla.) and Winthrop’s Tyler Mizenko (2-3, 3.38).

The Atlantic Coast Conference led the way with seven players named to the midseason watch list. The Big 12 had five, while the West Coast, Southeastern Conference and Pac-10 Conference added four pitchers each on this year's watch list.

Pitcher School Cl. Hometown
Colin Bates North Carolina So. Naperville, Ill.
Michael Belfiore (L) Boston College Jr. Commack, N.Y.
Kyle Bellamy Miami Jr. Davie, Fla.
Scott Bittle Ole Miss Sr. Texarkana, Texas
Zach Calhoon UTSA Jr. Spring, Texas
Collin Cargill Southern Miss So. Hattiesburg, Miss.
Joey Cutler N.C. State Sr. Matthews, N.C.
Luke Demko Rhode Island Sr. Gilford, N.H.
Chris Enourato West Virginia Jr. Bridgeport, W. Va.
Nick Gaudi Pepperdine Sr. Lancaster, Calif.
Jake Geglein Cincinnati Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
AJ Griffin San Diego Jr. El Cajon, Calif.
Jake Hale Ohio State Sr. Albany, Ohio
Stephen Harrold UNC Wilmington So. Raleigh, N.C.
Alex Hassan Duke Jr. Boston, Mass.
Austin Hubbard Auburn Jr. Birmingham, Ala.
Joe Kelly UC Riverside Jr. Corona, Calif.
Greg Lane Binghamton Sr. Binghamton, N.Y.
Cody Martin Gonzaga So. Dos Palos, Calif.
Nick McCully Coastal Carolina Fr. Lakeland, Fla.
Tyler Mizenko Winthrop Fr. Wallingford, Conn.
Brian Moran (L) North Carolina Jr. Rye, N.Y.
Kevin Munson James Madison So. Roanoke, Va.
Matty Ott LSU Fr. New Orleans, La.
Matt Packer (L) Virginia Jr. Germantown, Tenn.
Eric Pettis UC Irvine Jr. West Hills, Calif.
Addison Reed San Diego State So. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Kevin Rhoderick Oregon State So. Scottsdale, Ariz.
Jordan Rogers Rice Sr. Dayton, Texas
Thomas Rooke (L) Kansas State So. Spring, Texas
Chad Sheppard Northwestern State Fr. Enterprise, La.
Thain Simon Santa Clara So. El Dorado Hills, Calif.
Paul Smyth Kansas Sr. Atascadero, Calif.
Ryan Smith Dartmouth So. Greenlawn, N.Y.
Jimmy Stanley Belmont Sr. Lexington, Ky.
Travis Starling Texas A&M Jr. Yoakum, Texas
Jason Stoffel Arizona Jr. Agoura, Calif.
Drew Storen Stanford So. Brownsburg, Ind.
Josh Storm Troy Sr. Cottondale, Fla.
Daniel Tenholder Austin Peay Jr. Clarksville, Tenn.
Matt Vaughn Clemson Sr. Summerville, S.C.
Derek Ward ULM Sr. Lewisville, Ark.
Dean Weaver Georgia Jr. Douglasville, Ga.
Austin Wood (L) Texas Sr. Kingwood, Texas
(L) indicates left-handed pitcher

The watch list was compiled from nominations submitted by sports information contacts and conference media relations offices nationwide. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 3, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional play.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee then will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced Saturday, June 13, before the opening of NCAA College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006, Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007 and Georgia’s Joshua Fields topping the field in 2008.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, also presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player in addition to naming a Division I All-America Team, Division I and Division III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

For additional information on the 2009 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award, contact Chuck Dunlap at the Southeastern Conference (205-458-3000).

2009 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
Tues., Feb. 17: Preseason Watch List
Thurs., April 16: Midseason Watch List
Wed., June 3: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
Sat., June 13: NCBWA Stopper of the Year announced