June 16, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
Three standouts left for consideration of college baseball's top honor
Bookmark and Share

OMAHA, Neb. (NCBWA) – Two standouts who led their teams to the 2011 NCAA World Series and the Pacific-10 Conference season strikeout record-holder have been named as finalists for the 2011 Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations in balloting by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association in conjunction with the College Baseball Foundation, the Dick Howser Trophy committee and the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce.

Dick Howser Trophy

UCLA pitcher Trevor Bauer, Virginia P-DH Danny Hultzen and Texas pitcher Taylor Jungmann are the finalists for the prestigious 25th annual awarding of the Howser Trophy.

The winner will be announced on Tuesday, June 21, at a 10 a.m. (CDT) national news conference at TD Ameritrade Park – the first-year home of the 65th annual NCAA World Series.

Each finalist embodies the major principles of character, leadership, desire, and competitive spirit exhibited by Dick Howser, the All-America shortstop and later head coach at Florida State before managing the Kansas City Royals to the world championship in 1985. He also is the namesake for Dick Howser Stadium at FSU.

Bauer, a fireballing junior from Valencia, Calif., capped his UCLA career in 2011 as the third player chosen in the Major League Baseball draft by the Arizona Diamondbacks. He also struck out a Pacific-10 Conference-record 203 batters in 136-plus innings while walking only 36 hitters to lead the nation in whiffs. The Bruins’ standout also garnered Collegiate Baseball magazine National Player of the Year honors while being chosen as Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year. He ended the season at 13-2 with nine consecutive victories, a 1.25 earned run average and pitched UCLA into the host’s role for the 2011 NCAA Los Angeles Regional.

Jungmann, a junior from Georgetown, Texas, near Austin, brought the Longhorns back to the 2011 NCAA World Series with a 13-2 mark, five complete games, three route-going shutouts (five combined), a 1.38 ERA, 32 walks issued, and 123 strikeouts. He was the Big 12 Conference Pitcher of the Year, helped UT to a 49-17 mark prior to Saturday’s opener in the CWS against Florida, had 18 appearances with 17 starts, and allowed opponents a batting average of .164. The consensus All-America selection was chosen 12th overall in the 2011 MLB draft by the Milwaukee Brewers.

Hultzen, a junior lefthander with sterling hitting and pitching credentials as a P-DH-1B from Bethesda, Md., also enjoyed a season to remember as the ace of the Cavaliers’ staff. He led the team to a nation-wins-best 54-10 record prior to the NCAA World Series and was the winning pitcher in the 2011 Charlottesville Super regional against talented UC Irvine.

One of the top candidates and a finalist for the College Baseball Foundation’s John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, he was the second student-athlete selected in the ’11 draft (taken by the Seattle Mariners) while posting a 12-3 pitching record with a 1.49 ERA in 16 starts, 108 2/3 innings, 151 strikeouts, and a mere 20 baseson- balls allowed. The 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year also started 36 games as a DH or in the field with a .320 batting average, 10 doubles, one homer, and 35 RBI.

Voting for the Dick Howser Trophy has been conducted by the NCBWA membership since 1999 after the American Baseball Coaches Association selected the recipient from 1987-1998. The NCBWA also selects the Stopper of the Year, the Division I National Coach of the Year and National Freshman Hitter and Pitcher of the Year, along with NCAA Division II and III All-America teams, Players and Coaches of the Year.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, P, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, 1B, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001; Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; and Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010.

2011 Dick Howser Trophy:
Thurs., Feb. 17: Dick Howser Trophy celebrates 25th anniversary
Fri., May 20: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists announced
Thurs., June 16: Dick Howser Trophy finalists announced
Tues., June 21: Dick Howser Trophy winner announced

Related links:
More on the Dick Howser Trophy
Official site (dickhowsertrophy.com)