April 21, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Tami Cutler
SEC boasts six closers among 46 chosen
Bookmark and Share

IRVINE, Calif. (NCBWA) Forty-six players have been named to the midseason watch list for the seventh annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, as announced by the association Thursday.

Leading the elite field with a nation-best 13 saves is East Tennessee State's Bo Reeder. The junior right-hander owns a 1.77 ERA and had registered 24 strikeouts in 20.1 innings pitched.

Also included on this year's midseason watch list is sophomore right-hander Branden Kline, the closer for No. 1-ranked Virginia. Kline currently has 11 saves and is 3-0 with a 1.88 ERA and 34 strikeouts in 24.0 innings pitched. Defending national champion South Carolina also has its closer featured. Sophomore right-hander Matt Price has 11 saves and is 4-2 with a 2.36 ERA and 37 strikeouts in 26.2 innings pitched.

The SEC leads the way with six players named to the midseason watch list, while Conference USA has four. The Big West, Big 12, Big East, West Coast, and Mid-American have three pitchers each on this year's watch list. In all, 22 conferences are showcased in this year's midseason watch list.

Pitcher School Cl.
James Allen Kansas State Jr.
Tony Bryant Oregon State So.
Collin Cargill Southern Miss Sr.
Pat Christensen La Salle So.
Tony Cingrani Rice Sr.
Chris Dennis Portland Sr.
Kyle Glancy Northern Illinois Jr.
Chris Haney Dallas Baptist Sr.
Ryan Hawthorne LMU Jr.
Brian Hernandez UC Irvine Sr.
Joaquin Hinojosa Texas A&M Sr.
Todd Hornsby Jacksonville State Jr.
Andrew Jones Samford Sr.
Dan Kickham Missouri State Jr.
Branden Kline Virginia So.
Corey Knebel Texas Fr.
Jordan LeGros McNeese State Sr.
Lenny Linsky Hawaii Jr.
Stefan Lopez Southeastern Louisiana So.
Eddie Magallon Long Beach State So.
Tyler Maloof Georgia Jr.
Cody Martin Gonzaga Sr.
Kyle McMillen Kent State Jr.
Daniel Miranda Miami, Fla. Jr.
Navery Moore Vanderbilt Jr.
John Neely Texas Tech Jr.
Matty Ott LSU Jr.
Nick Pepitone Tulane Sr.
Matt Price South Carolina So.
Kevin Quackenbush South Florida Sr.
Nick Ramirez Cal State Fullerton Jr.
Chris Reed Stanford Jr.
Bo Reeder East Tennessee State Jr.
Charlie Robertson Fresno State Jr.
Nolan Sanburn Arkansas Fr.
Seth Simmons East Carolina Sr.
Jonathan Smart Alabama Sr.
Tyler Smith Rider So.
Kevin Vance Connecticut Jr.
Tyler Wagner Utah So.
Abram Williams Radford Jr.
Adam Wisniewski Old Dominion Sr.
Nick Wittgren Purdue So.
Matt Zahel Toledo Sr.
Evan Zerff Long Island So.
Tony Zych Louisville Jr.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 1, prior to start of NCAA regional tournament competition. The NCBWA's All-America Committee then will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced on the opening day of the College World Series on June 18.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006, Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007, Georgia's Joshua Fields topping the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbing the honor in 2009, and Texas' Chance Ruffin earning the honor last season.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

For more information on the NCBWA Stopper of the Year, contact Tami Cutler at Wichita State at 316-978-5559 or Russ Anderson at Conference USA at 214-774-1300.

2011 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
Tues., Feb. 1: Preseason Watch List
Thurs., April 21: Midseason Watch List
Tues., June 7: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
Tues., June 21: NCBWA Stopper of the Year announced