May 15, 2014
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
35 standouts up for college baseball's top honor Bookmark and Share

Dick Howser TrophyDALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has released the list of semifinalists for the 2014 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 28th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 5. The 2014 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the fourth year. The winner will be unveiled on Saturday, June 14 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2014 CWS.

The candidates hail from 17 different conferences and 28 different schools. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with six semifinalists, followed by the Big West with five, Atlantic Coast, Ohio Valley and Pac-12 with three and Missouri Valley, Sun Belt and West Coast Conferences with two. Every position on the diamond is represented, including 10 starting pitchers, five second basemen, four outfielders, three catchers, three relief pitchers, three utility players, two third basemen, three shortstops and two designated hitters, among this diversified group.

OF Caleb Adams, Louisiana SP Matt Imhoff, Cal Poly
C Will Allen, Ole Miss OF Michael Katz, William & Mary
3B Austin Anderson, Ole Miss SP Nathan Kirby, Virginia
SP Casey Bloomquist, Cal Poly 2B Mark Mathias, Cal Poly
SS Dylan Bosheers, Tennessee Tech SS Daniel Miles, Tennessee Tech
UT Aaron Brown, Pepperdine RP Sam Moore, UC Irvine
SP Walker Buehler, Vanderbilt SP Andrew Morales, UC Irvine
RP Michael Cederoth, San Diego State SP Aaron Nola, LSU
OF Michael Conforto, Oregon State C Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State
2B Jace Conrad, Louisiana UT A.J. Reed, Kentucky
2B Andrew Daniel, San Diego SS Michael Russell, North Carolina
SP Ty Davis, Washington RP Joe Seddon, South Carolina
2B Paul DeJong, Illinois State C Kyle Schwarber, Indiana
SP Brandon Finnegan, TCU 2B Ryan Seiz, Liberty
SP Blake Fox, Rice OF D.J. Stewart, Florida State
DH Derek Gibson, Southeast Missouri State UT Cole Sturgeon, Louisville
1B Casey Gillaspie, Wichita State SP Ben Wetzler, Oregon State
DH Mackenzie Handel, Stephen F. Austin  

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979, after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

"The Dick Howser Trophy was founded shortly after his death by a few friends of Dick’s in the St. Petersburg Area who played, coached and worked with him," said David Feaster of the Howser Trophy Committee. "All knew him personally and were aware of him as a tremendous player, coach and friend. The award was initially awarded at the Governors Baseball Dinner held each spring in St. Petersburg to welcome Spring Training to Florida and as time progressed, we moved the presentation to Omaha, the center of college baseball, during the World Series. I have been involved with the award for over 20 years and have loved every minute of my involvement. I have had the opportunity to meet some great college players as well as some great young men. I am so proud of the Character quality we have in our award, which makes it unique. I am also proud of our selection process by the NCBWA which is the most democratic of any award and provides a true national scope.

"The Dick Howser trophy is now 28 years old and growing stronger," added Feaster. "It is a true testimony to Dick Howser’s ability as a player, coach and gentlemen. I am proud to be associated with it."

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg – home of the Tampa Bay Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011; Mike Zunino, C, Florida, 2012 and Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego, 2013.

2014 Dick Howser Trophy:
Thu., May 15: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists announced
Thu., June 5: Dick Howser Trophy finalists announced
Sat., June 14: Dick Howser Trophy winner announced | News conference video

Related links:
More on the Dick Howser Trophy