May 20, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
43 standouts up for college baseball's top honor
Bookmark and Share

Dick Howser Trophy DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has released the list of semifinalists for the 2016 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 30th year of the Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 9. The 2016 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the sixth year. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 17 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 18 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2016 CWS.

The candidates hail from 17 different conferences and 34 different schools. The Atlantic Coast Conference leads the way with 13 semifinalists, followed by the Southeastern Conference with eight, Big 12 with three, Sun Belt with three, Atlantic Sun, Colonial, Missouri Valley with two and Big South, Big East, Big Ten, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West, Pac-12, Southland, Southwestern Athletic and West Coast Conferences with one each. Every position on the diamond is represented, including eight starting pitchers, five third basemen, five outfielders, four shortstops, four first basemen, four catchers, four relief pitchers, three second basemen, three utility players and three designated hitters, among this diversified group.

Peter Alonso, 1B, Florida Brendan McKay, UT, Louisville
Luken Baker, UT, TCU Hunter Melton, 1B, Texas A&M
Seth Beer, OF, Clemson Brian Mims, 2B, UNC Wilmington
Jake Burger, 3B, Missouri State Dylan Moore, RP, Louisiana
Joseph Camacho, SP, Alabama State Sheldon Neuse, SS, Oklahoma
CJ Chatham, SS, Florida Atlantic Jake Noll, 2B, Florida Gulf Coast
Zack Collins, C, Miami Corey Raley, DH, Texas Tech
Will Craig, 3B, Wake Forest Troy Rallings, RP, Washington
Chris DeVito, C, New Mexico Corey Ray, OF, Louisville
Nick Feight, C, UNC Wilmington Bryan Reynolds, OF, Vanderbilt
Matt Fiedler, UT, Minnesota John Sansone, 3B, Florida State
Jameson Fisher, 1B, Southeastern Louisiana Clarke Schmidt, SP, South Carolina
Bryan Garcia, RP, Miami Ryan Scott, OF, Little Rock
Thomas Hackimer, RP, St. John's Nick Senzel, 3B, Tennessee
Darrick Hall, 1B, Dallas Baptist Colton Shaver, DH, BYU
Drew Harrington, SP, Louisville Logan Shore, SP, Florida
Kevin Hill, SP, South Alabama Nick Solak, 2B, Louisville
Dakota Hudson, SP, Mississippi State Matt Thaiss, C, Virginia
Connor Jones, SP, Virginia Taylor Walls, SS, Florida State
Connor Justus, SS, Georgia Tech Boomer White, 3B, Texas A&M
Eric Lauer, SP, Kent State G.K. Young, DH, Coastal Carolina
Kyle Lewis, OF, Mercer  

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979, after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

"The Dick Howser Trophy was founded shortly after his death by a few friends of Dick's in the St. Petersburg Area who played, coached and worked with him," said David Feaster, chairman of the Howser Trophy Committee. "All knew him personally and were aware of him as a tremendous player, coach and friend. The award was initially awarded at the Governors Baseball Dinner held each spring in St. Petersburg to welcome Spring Training to Florida and as time progressed, we moved the presentation to Omaha, the center of college baseball, during the World Series. I have been involved with the award for more than 25 years and have loved every minute of my involvement. I have had the opportunity to meet some great college players as well as some great young men. I am so proud of the character quality we have in our award, which makes it unique. I am also proud of our selection process by the NCBWA which is the most democratic of any award and provides a true national scope.

"The Dick Howser trophy is now 30 years old and growing stronger," added Feaster. "It is a true testimony to Dick Howser's ability as a player, coach and gentlemen. I am proud to be associated with it."

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011; Mike Zunino, C, Florida, 2012; Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego, 2013; A.J. Reed, P/1B, Kentucky, 2014; Andrew Benintendi, OF, Arkansas, 2015.

2016 Dick Howser Trophy:
Fri., May 20: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists announced
Thurs., June 9: Dick Howser Trophy finalists announced
Fri., June 17: Dick Howser Trophy winner announced on MLB Network
Sat., June 18: Dick Howser Trophy presented at College World Series

Related links:
More on the Dick Howser Trophy