United States Basketball Writers Association March 1, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Burlison, Moran and Tipton make 46 enshrinees

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Frank Burlison of the Long Beach Press-Telegram, Malcolm Moran of USA Today and Jerry Tipton of the Lexington Herald-Leader to the organization's Hall of Fame. Induction ceremonies for the three will be April 4 in St. Louis during the NCAA Final Four.


Burlison has been covering college basketball for nearly 30 years for the Press-Telegram, Orange County Register and foxsports.com. He is back for his second stint with the Press-Telegram and also writes college basketball and recruiting analysis for Scout.com (formerly TheInsiders.com). In 1992, Sports Illustrated listed him as one of the country's "10 most influential members of the media."

Moran was president of the USBWA in 1988-89 when the organization formalized its awards for women and held its first nationally-televised presentation of the player of the year awards. He has reported on college basketball for four newspapers over the past 30 years Newsday (1974), The New York Times (1979-98), Chicago Tribune (1998-2000) and USA Today (2000-present). He has covered 26 NCAA tournaments, three men's and women's Olympics and the 2002 World Championships for men.

Tipton is in his 23rd consecutive season on the University of Kentucky beat. During that time he has covered two NCAA championship teams and numerous Final Four squads. He worked for the Huntington (W. Va.) Herald-Dispatch for eight years before joining the Lexington Herald in 1981. He covered both UK football and basketball until 1987 when the beat was split. He has been named Kentucky Sportswriter of the Year and is a Herald-Leader Excellence Award winner.

The selection of Burlison, Moran and Tipton brings to 46 the number of writers and association members in the USBWA Hall of Fame since it was established in 1988.

Related link:
U.S. Basketball Writers Association Hall of Fame