United States Basketball Writers Association ABOUT THE USBWA

We are accepting membership applications and renewals for 2017-18.
If you have a question regarding membership, please contact Executive
Director Malcolm Moran at mailto:malcolm@usbwa.com or 814-574-1485.

The United States Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

Join the USBWA with our easy online application (Remember, USBWA membership is for accredited members of the media and affiliates only. All applications are subject to the approval of the USBWA's Board of Directors).

The USBWA has been selecting a Player of the Year (Oscar Robertson Trophy) and an All-America team in college basketball since the organization's inception in 1956.

The USBWA also selects a national Coach of the Year (Henry Iba Award).

The USBWA annually awards scholarships to college students pursuing careers in sports journalism and recognizes individuals for their contributions to college basketball (Katha Quinn Award).

In addition, the USBWA presents the Most Courageous Award and scholarship to the player, coach or official who has demonstrated unusual courage reflecting honor on amateur basketball.

Since its founding in 1956, the USBWA has served the interests of writers who follow college and high school basketball in the United States, fighting for access to and professional relations with the people in the sport we cover.

Basketball Times There's no better bargain in basketball than membership. Those who join are eligible to participate in the NCAA's annual Mock Tournament Selection, receive an annual digital subscription to Basketball Times, the organization's newsletter, The Tipoff, plus the indispensable USBWA Directory, which includes a full roster of the membership, as well as phone and Internet contacts for coaches, SIDs and beat writers for all men's and women's Divison I teams.

The organization's postseason awards program honors national and district Players of the Year and Coaches of the Year, as well as the winners of the Most Courageous Award, the Katha Quinn Service award, and inductees into the USBWA Hall of Fame.

In addition, members are eligible to vote for the USBWA's All-District and All-America teams, and to win cash prizes in the USBWA's Best Writing Contest.