United States Basketball Writers Association March 16, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
LSU boasts National Player and Coach of the Year

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today its 2004-05 women's postseason honors. LSU's Seimone Augustus and Pokey Chatman are the association's National Player and Coach of the Year. It's the seventh time since the USBWA started naming both a coach and player of the year in 1989-90 that both honorees have come from the same school.

Chatman, a former All-America player and longtime assistant at LSU, has led the Tigers to a 29-2 mark and a No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament. Chatman, who took over the program when the legendary Sue Gunter became ill in the middle of last season, led LSU to its first Final Four appearance last season and the nation's top ranking for most of this year.

1990: Jennifer Azzi/Tara VanDerveer, Stanford
1991: Dawn Staley/Debbie Ryan, Virginia
1995: Rebecca Lobo/Geno Auriemma, Connecticut
1998: Chamique Holdsclaw/Pat Summitt, Tennessee
2001: Ruth Riley/Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame
2003: Diana Taurasi/Geno Auriemma, Connaecticut
2005: Seimone Augustus/Pokey Chatman, LSU

Augustus, the 2003 USBWA Freshman of the Year, is averaging 20.1 points and 4.5 rebounds per game for the SEC regular-season champs. The Baton Rouge, La., native was named the SEC's Player of the Year, becoming the first LSU player to receive the honor. Her backcourt mate, Temeka Johnson, joins her on the 2004-05 USBWA All-America Team. Johnson, a two-time All-SEC selection, is second in the nation with 7.5 assists per game.

Other USBWA All-Americans include three Big 12 players: Tiffany Jackson of Texas, Kansas State's Kendra Wecker of Baylor's Sophia Young. Jackson, the 2004 USBWA Freshman of the Year, is averaging 18.1 points per game. Wecker, K-State's all-time leading scorer, is averaging a Big 12-best 20.6 points and 10.1 rebounds per game. Young was the Big 12 tournament MVP.

Minnesota All-America center Janel McCarville will become the first Golden Gopher to play in four NCAA tournaments. She ranks among the leaders in every major Big Ten individual statistical category. Fellow Big Ten center, sophomore Jessica Davenport of Ohio State, leads the Buckeyes with 19.3 points, 9.1 rebounds and 3.4 blocks per game. TCU's Sandora Irvin is the NCAA's all-time leader in blocked shots and had a single-game record of 16 this season vs. UAB. She is 11th in the nation in scoring, second in rebounding and third in blocked shots.

Penn State's Tanisha Wright and Duke's Monique Currie also earned USBWA All-America honors. Wright was the Big Ten's leading scorer (19.6) and is closing in on the 2000-point plateau, with 1,976 career points entering the NCAA tournament. Currie, the ACC Player of the Year, is the only player in the conference to rank in the top 15 in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals.

Two players were chosen as the USBWA's Freshman of the Year: Stanford's Candice Wiggins and Georgia's Tasha Humphrey. Wiggins was the Pac-10 Player of the Year and, with her 17.3 points per game, leads the top-ranked Cardinal into the NCAA tournament. Humphrey is averaging 19.1 points and 8.2 rebounds heading into NCAA play.

Following is the complete list of 2004-05 USBWA women's honors:

Player, School Pos. Ht. Cl. Hometown
Seimone Augustus, LSU G 6-1 Jr. Baton Rouge, La.
Monique Currie, Duke G/F 6-0 Jr. Washington, D.C.
Jessica Davenport, Ohio St. C 6-4 So. Columbus, Ohio
Sandora Irvin, TCU F 6-3 Sr. Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Tiffany Jackson, Texas F 6-3 So. Dallas, Texas
Temeka Johnson, LSU G 5-3 Sr. New Orleans, La.
Janel McCarville, Minnesota C 6-2 Sr. Stevens Point, Wis.
Kendra Wecker, Kansas St. F 5-11 Sr. Marysville, Kan.
Tanisha Wright, Penn St. F 5-11 Sr. West Mifflin, Pa.
Sophia Young, Baylor F 6-1 Jr. St. Vincent, West Indies
Freshman of the Year
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia F 6-3 Fr. Gainesville, Ga.
Candice Wiggins, Stanford F 5-11 Fr. La Jolla, Calif.
Player of the Year: Seimone Augustus, LSU
Coach of the Year: Pokey Chatman, LSU

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association, formed in 1956, has named a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. The association has also named a national player of the year since 1987-88 and a national coach of the year since 1989-90. In 2002-03, the USBWA initiated an award for the nation's top freshman. For more information about the USBWA and its annual awards, contact Executive Director Joe Mitch in the Missouri Valley Conference office at 314-421-0339.

Related link:
All-Time USBWA women's honors